DS-Xtreme with other Hardware

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by FuLei, Dec 15, 2006.

Dec 15, 2006

DS-Xtreme with other Hardware by FuLei at 5:04 AM (1,752 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. FuLei
    OP

Member FuLei GBAtemp Regular

United States
    Hey, so basically I'm completely new to DS Xtreme. Correct me if I'm wrong, basically, the DS Xtreme, on its own, is a complete Media Center/Hardrive. Now, supposedly you can add on (to slot 2) adapters like the M3 Lite or the G6 Lite. But, aren't those systems on their own? And does that mean that the DSX would be just acting as a Passcard, meaning that you completely lose DSX functionality and change into M3/G6 Mode? Or does it simply mean you have more memory? Please clarify...

Thanks,
    FuLei

2. Montero

Newcomer Montero Member

The DS-X is a fullblown Slot 1 Flashcart. Great for playing games. Files with .nds ending.
    It does not at this point support GBA.
    It can play SNES games through a emulator like SNESemulDS.

DS-X can also serve as a Passcard device. To make the DS-X enter passcard mode start up the NDS with the Select button pressed.

3. Lawr.

Newcomer Lawr. Member

It is not a Media Center.

To access any slot-2 devices, the DS-X will be used as a PassMe (such as the PassCard) device, and you're correct, you will lose "DSX functionality".

When you run the DS-X normally (boot into the DS-X), you will not be able to access any ROMS or media stored on the slot-2 devices (M3, G6, SuperCrap, NeoGarbage, etc.). This does not mean you cannot use any slot-2 peripherals - you can still run devices such as the Opera RAM cart, or the DS Rumble Pack.

4. FuLei
    OP

United States
    All that I meant by Media Center was that it plays movies, music, games, and photos. But thanks a lot guys. [​IMG]

5. Costello

Administrator Costello Headmaster