DS-Xtreme in action

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Sep 18, 2006.

Sep 18, 2006

DS-Xtreme in action by shaunj66 at 2:22 PM (4,286 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom








    DS-Xtreme In Action

    First video







    A short video has just been released by the DS-X team showing the DS-Xtreme in action. The video shows the DS-Xtreme connected to an Apple Mac, loading a regular binary of the popular homebrew app 'DS Organise' over USB, which then appears to work and save files just fine on the DS-Xtreme.



    The only thing that's shown in the video that concerns me is that it appears the DS-Xtreme's O/S takes approximately 5 seconds to boot after selecting its icon in the main DS menu, and the interface shown is no different to the image we showed you quite some weeks ago. Otherwise it does look quite nice!
    Click the link above to view it, or simply enter this thread.
     
  2. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    :/ I'd rather have a review than a video. I thought they already shipped the review units and apparently MaxConsole already has theirs. Review! Review! Hehe....
     
  4. muggsy

    Newcomer muggsy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks pretty nice.... might have to consider it, once a decent review is out...
     
  5. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No review just yet. We haven't recieved our samples yet. [​IMG]
     
  6. Paladin

    Newcomer Paladin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Looks awesome. Wonder how it will run in the field (once gbatemp gets theres.)

    If it works as well as it looks it's a lot better alternative than a gbaflash cart (ie pass and flash.)

    Anyways looks good but i hope for more.

    ~Paladin
     
  7. x_comp

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks good... apart from the loading time. The computer setup and Windows theme caught my attention more than the DS did [​IMG]
     
  8. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Why would the loading time be worrying ?

    Btw Shaunj66 does it look like you will recieving the unit before the weekend, shipping date on one of the website supposedly is 20th of this month ?
     
  9. m2pt5

    Member m2pt5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    GMT-5
    Country:
    United States
    That... is quite impressive. I wonder if DSO actually recognizes it as a NinjaDS or what...
     
  10. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Shipping date will not be the 20th I can tell you that much! It's looking to be late October to be honest.
     
  11. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    If DSOrganize works that's a good sign for Talkie-versions in ScummVM DS. Waiting for a review [​IMG]
     
  12. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Well the only thing I don't like is it doesn't boot straight into the DS-X, it has to be manually done..

    Otherwise, I await final verdict on rom testing, hopefully does the non-patching roms better than NinjaDS
     
  13. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I don't think it has to be manually done if you've set your DS on Auto-Mode. [​IMG]
     
  14. lookout

    Member lookout GBAtemp Board Room

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DS-X load very slow?
     
  15. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    I just thought it was supposed to be also a NoPass device so it would automatically boot without mucking with any DS settings..
     
  16. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Hmm didn't know if was a NoPass. That would be cool since I'm also planning to get a "lite" cart. Maybe it detects if there is a flashcart in the GBA slot? (Just like FlashMe.) (Since the demo didn't have one in the GBA slot.)
     
  17. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's a setting defaultly available in your DS-Settings, I honestly don't see the harm in switching it.
    The NoPass thing is that you can boot the DS-X without the need to flash your DS or to use a MK4-Mini or something like you need with DS-Link.
    Also the NoPass can be used to boot something from the GBA slot, like an M3 or Super-card.

    But the autoboot is just a setting on your DS, available at Settings (The DS Icon @ Bottom-Middle on the main screen) -> Options (Purple) -> Start-up (Arrow pointing to door) -> [A] Auto Mode. This does not require any firmware changes.
     
  18. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,587
    Country:
    United States
    from what I've gathered on the DS-X forums (strictly based on inferences made by DS-X folk), the DS-X begins functioning as a nopass when you "Launch" into Slot 2 mode. You wouldn't want the DS-X to function as a nopass while it was running games from Slot 1.
     
  19. Bram Stoker

    Newcomer Bram Stoker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    A NoPass is basically a device which fits into SLOT-1 (DS SLOT) and talks to the SLOT-1 card data bus natively, which means with card encryption. And this in lamen terms this means it acts like a retail DS game card.

    DSLink requires FlashMe to run, so I suppose it does not talk natively with card databus encryption, which does not make it a NoPass.

    NinjaDS and DS-X have claimed they do not need FlashMe and therefore can talk to the card databus with encryption, and makes them NoPass devices.
     

Share This Page