Ds won't turn on.

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by !!??, May 31, 2008.

May 31, 2008

Ds won't turn on. by !!?? at 9:53 PM (2,121 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I have an old ds. My screen got scratches, so I tried replacing my screen. After replacing the screen and putting it back together, when trying to turn on my DS it turns on the touch screen flashes then turns off. Could anybody help me fix it. I don't have a warranty because it's about 3 years old. How much would it be to repair if I can't fix it myself.
     
  2. mastermanna123

    Member mastermanna123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    Country:
    United States
    you shud just send it over to nintendo and theyll give u a price quote on repair. at most it shud be around $30. You shud check tho. [​IMG]
     
  3. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
  4. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Chances are if you opened it and f'ed it up, it'll be obvious and will void warranty, they will not fix it.

    I'd suggest either A)Getting a new DS or B)Attempting to find a third party company that fixes these things, there are a few online that also give free quotes.
     
  5. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah , but don't they charge you to fix it.
     
  6. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    What warranty?

    He clearly stated that he didn't have a warranty because his DS was about 3 years old.
     
  7. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    AH now I made it even worse. I blew the fuse on my while putting the old touch screen in to see if it was the touch screen that was the problem, but then I think I may have blew a fuse. SO now I'm going to have to solder it, but my first problem was that I broke the clips that two wires go in, so I don't know how I would fix that. I might just upgrade to a lite, but if I do I want to see if I get this one working so I have both. Oh and the worse thing is that the touch screen I was using to replace it broke, so my ds is broken for nothing.
     
  8. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm willing to bet that you messed up the insulation. Tape the back panel of the screen.
     
  9. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    You mean where that black cloth is? SHould I use any specific tape? Electrical? Duct? Scotch?

    I may have not blown the fuses. there is still a green wire there.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The first issue is most likely due to the top screen's ribbon cable not being pushed in all the way. The DS starts up, doesn't detect the top screen at all, and shuts off as a result. The ribbon cable reportedly goes in farther than most people expect.

    Dunno what to tell you on the fuses, sorry.
     
  11. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    I use scotch. But I think electrical tape will work.
     
  12. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys I will try both of your suggestions and see if it works.
     
  13. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    It still doesn't turn on at all. I guess the fuse is broken. Does anybody have recommendations for a soldering iron?
     
  14. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Like someone else said, it is likely that one of the screens' ribbon cable is not properly connected. This exact thing happened to me when I changed the casing. Open it up and make sure everything is properly connected before taking a soldering iron to it.
     
  15. !!??
    OP

    Newcomer !!?? Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    No I tried that, and it doesn't work. He said that was the solution to my first problem. Now I have to do this to fix it.
    http://www.m3wiki.com/index.php/Nintendo_D...le_(blown_fuse)
    Yep after looking closely I see that the wire is severed.
     
  16. sboi

    Newcomer sboi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Singapore
    about the ds that could not on. i open my ds most of the time, its related to the top LCD ribbon wire which is not connected to the PCB properly. Just ned to insert in fully. blown fuse is seriously a risky thing to do. ask a shop which does repair and do for u.
     

Share This Page