DS temperature sensor?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by kelvinate, Jun 25, 2006.

Jun 25, 2006

DS temperature sensor? by kelvinate at 1:05 PM (7,040 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. kelvinate
    OP

    Member kelvinate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Does anyone know if the DS/DSL have a temperature sensor? I recently installed Moonshell and next to the time display the temperature. I checked it with a real themometer and its close enough?

    SO does anyone know whether the DS/DSL have a temperature sensor?
     


  2. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    maybe it shows the CPU temperature, who knows...
     
  3. Malc`

    Newcomer Malc` Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just guessing, but I think its the temp of the battery? Lithium-Ion batteries deteriorate quickly at high temps so maybe its something ninty implemented to troubleshoot.

    Its defo not the room temp, cos mine says 33C sometimes in moonshell and my room is like 18 [​IMG]
     
  4. kelvinate
    OP

    Member kelvinate GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That make sense, as I dont see why Nintendo would include a temperature sensor in DS without telling anyone, It could be use for implmentation for games after all. Most li-ion battery does have temperature/current circuit on them to preven them to blow up [​IMG] .
     
  5. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    I found this. There are actually two diodes inside the touchscreen that are used for the calculation of the temperature you see.
     
  6. bluebright

    Member bluebright GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Weather it is for a screen or battery, i compared it to another electronic room thermometer and it was very accurate...so, i guess you can safely say moonshell is always dectecting room temperature.
     
  7. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Its the temparture meter right next to the battery... You can't see it, but after leaving y DS in a fridge for about 30 minutes the Temp was still 33.4C
     
  8. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    The M3 interface tells you the temperature too.
     
  9. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, did and condensate form on the ds? Surprise anyone had the balls to do this lol
     
  10. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    No it was fine, but it reeked of rotten carrots ._. Well I have a Lite now, so further experimintation will go on my old DSPhat!
     
  11. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, bad idea. I did that with my cell phone and the LCD is forever messed up. Imagine having an LCD with a 5 ms response time, sticking it in the freezer turns it to 50ms.
     
  12. Alexeh

    Newcomer Alexeh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's an FCD now.. frozen crystal display [​IMG]
     
  13. ultrablade

    Newcomer ultrablade Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    lol @ alexeh

    [​IMG]

    ultrablade
     
  14. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    how could this be used in rom/game development in the future?
     
  15. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well...like Boktai but with temp instead of light...

    EDIT: It wont work [​IMG]
     
  16. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Boktai sensed light?
     
  17. larvi

    Member larvi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
  18. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Doesn´t it?
    I mean the GBA version [​IMG]
     
  19. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    wow imagine.....in final fantasy you'd have to visit certain areas to unlock certain secrets...like deserts and arctic environments... [​IMG]
     
  20. ds6220

    Member ds6220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    It did, yeah. (wait....did I miss the sarcasm? [​IMG] )
     

Share This Page