ds standby

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by xcalibur, Nov 28, 2007.

Nov 28, 2007

ds standby by xcalibur at 8:01 PM (1,149 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive been curious about this ever since i opened up my ds for the first time
    how does the standby work?
    i didnt see any mechanism to do so.. how does it go into standby when you close it?
    would like the know about the phat more than the lite rly
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Seems to have something to do with magnets......take a magnet and try it around the ABXY buttons, it will go into sleep mode.
     
  3. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Indeed. It works that way because the DS boxes are magnetic too. Try holding a paperclip in front of them when the DS is turned on and you'll see what I mean.
     
  4. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    BTW: Any Idea why the Standby does not work properly when the Softreboot is turned on (M3 Simply for example) ?
     
  5. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I GET IT
    the speakers in the ds are what turn it off
    they contain magnets!

    @pasc
    i have no idea, some flashcards dont do standby and just turn off the backlight to fool you into thinking it went into standby
    some games dont work properly either, my advance wars ds keeps "popping" on and off when i try to put it into standby
     
  6. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    yep, and if I turn on standby (mostly new games I of course dumped myself like we all do) while having the reboot turned on it does the popping sound (How I hate that sound >< )
     
  7. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel

    Both above me ...

    I had the same with EBA.. I just got the game out of the DS , Took some air.. blowed , into the DS and Game , Inserted.. Worked without problems! [​IMG]
     
  8. 704jaffer

    Member 704jaffer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Morden, MB
    Country:
    Canada
    That is ingenious design, since speakers use magnets. I bet someone at big N got a bonus for that, since then they wouldnt have to put a switch anywhere for when the case closed!
     
  9. Jackreyes

    Jackreyes Newbie

    lol i don't wanna put a magnet near my ds [​IMG]
    i always am afraid of messing the screen lol
    my tv screen is slightly green at the top due to a magnet.
     
  10. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    CRT (Cathode Ray Tube, or picture tube) monitors and TVs are susceptible to that, but LCD screens are not.
     
  11. Jackreyes

    Jackreyes Newbie

    Oh yeah cos i'm likely to know that [​IMG]

    oh... i still can't be bothered to test it.
     

Share This Page