DS Phat with Lite's Brightness Settings?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by FifthE1ement, Jul 12, 2006.

Jul 12, 2006
  1. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I have been hearing users mention they have their newer DS Phat flashed with another firmware which allows for the brightness settings. They said it has to be a newer DS Phat as the older ones will just make on/off again. Does anyone have any info or can point me in the right direction?

    Thanks,

    FifthE1ement
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,426
    Featured Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are a few other threads but the premise is simple enough.
    You need a later model DS with a special chip in it which allows for brightness changing, I thought it was exclusive to some V5 firmware DS' but the last time this came up apparently some V4 ones have it as well.
    See the picochat test or run a new version of flashme and it should be at the bottom of the screen if you want to know what version of firmware your DS carries.
    If it can be done the new version of flashme (v7 with lite support (do not use the original V7) or you could use a lite supporting beta if you really wanted) will add this variable light levels you seek.
    Once done you will be able to change light levels in the same manner as before and you will have variable light levels (although one less level than a lite).
     
  3. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Its odd since m DS shows Dark Green which is FW 3 but I just bought it 3 months ago? How can I find out if it will still work? I have heard that the FW tester might be wrong since newer DS's are showing green as well? Also, do you have any good links on the subject?

    Thanks again,

    FifthE1ement
     
  4. heyyouguys

    Member heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Have you flashed your DS yet? If so, I may be wrong but I think the flasme is based on ver 3. Any correct if I am wrong.
     
  5. Prema

    Newcomer Prema Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
  6. gryto

    Member gryto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    New Zealand
    That link requires a login, is there any other place to download it?
     
  7. GBAer

    Member GBAer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    My House
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. FifthE1ement
    OP

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Thanksa bunch... I'll give it a try and get back to you! [​IMG]
     
  9. heyyouguys

    Member heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
  10. compi

    Member compi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Belgium
    The DS's that came with the Nintendogs pack have "the special chip".
    But it consumes A LOT of battery power at higher brighteness level than default.
     

Share This Page

Loading...