1. FifthE1ement

    OP FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    I have been hearing users mention they have their newer DS Phat flashed with another firmware which allows for the brightness settings. They said it has to be a newer DS Phat as the older ones will just make on/off again. Does anyone have any info or can point me in the right direction?

    Thanks,

    FifthE1ement
     
  2. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    30,960
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are a few other threads but the premise is simple enough.
    You need a later model DS with a special chip in it which allows for brightness changing, I thought it was exclusive to some V5 firmware DS' but the last time this came up apparently some V4 ones have it as well.
    See the picochat test or run a new version of flashme and it should be at the bottom of the screen if you want to know what version of firmware your DS carries.
    If it can be done the new version of flashme (v7 with lite support (do not use the original V7) or you could use a lite supporting beta if you really wanted) will add this variable light levels you seek.
    Once done you will be able to change light levels in the same manner as before and you will have variable light levels (although one less level than a lite).
     
  3. FifthE1ement

    OP FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Its odd since m DS shows Dark Green which is FW 3 but I just bought it 3 months ago? How can I find out if it will still work? I have heard that the FW tester might be wrong since newer DS's are showing green as well? Also, do you have any good links on the subject?

    Thanks again,

    FifthE1ement
     
  4. heyyouguys

    heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    Have you flashed your DS yet? If so, I may be wrong but I think the flasme is based on ver 3. Any correct if I am wrong.
     
  5. Prema

    Prema Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
  6. gryto

    gryto GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    New Zealand
    That link requires a login, is there any other place to download it?
     
  7. GBAer

    GBAer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
  8. FifthE1ement

    OP FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Thanksa bunch... I'll give it a try and get back to you! [​IMG]
     
  9. heyyouguys

    heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
  10. compi

    compi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Belgium
    The DS's that came with the Nintendogs pack have "the special chip".
    But it consumes A LOT of battery power at higher brighteness level than default.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Brightness, Settings, Lites