Ds on flight rules

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Germ5, Oct 19, 2007.

Oct 19, 2007

Ds on flight rules by Germ5 at 7:48 PM (1,081 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Germ5
    OP

    Newcomer Germ5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    What are the current regulations for using a DS on short haul European flights?

    Sorry this is probably a topic covered before but it is hard to review topics using a pocket pc.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No reason why it shouldn't be allowed unless you are using wireless...

    - Sam
     
  3. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is ok to play on a flight but wifi is not aloud. I played my DS on a flight to Cyprus with no problems and i used my laptop to watch a DVD.
     
  4. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Took my DS and my M3 CF on board a plane. As soon as the plane was in the air, I played a little. I also remember using the airplane's own headphone on my DS and it deleted every save data on it but when I removed it, the saves got restored. Or maybe I was jet lagged when I played.
     
  5. RayorDragonFall

    Member RayorDragonFall I see you've played knifey-spoony before.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,196
    Country:
    Spain
    ...What do headphones have to do with save data?
     
  6. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    exactly my question [​IMG]

    maybe he/she, just the headphones in too far [​IMG] [​IMG]


    but no, you CAN play your DS on the plane, but no wifi..
     
  7. RayorDragonFall

    Member RayorDragonFall I see you've played knifey-spoony before.

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,196
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm guessing he just dreamed it [​IMG]
     
  8. Smuff

    Member Smuff Fossilized Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    By the sea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You CAN play on the plane, with no wifi (as already stated) but only while the plane is in midflight - it must be turned off during takeoff and landing.

    The only problem I had on a recent flight back from Egypt was the guy behind me wanting to know why I had soooo many games on my DS without changing the cart when his daughter's could only hold one game at a time [​IMG]
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No wi-fi is a complete lie. Boeing even had in-flight Wi-Fi before they decided no one was paying for it.
     
  10. BakuFunn

    Member BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    hide the back with your finger, and eject you cart sometimes, or, just tell him about ur flashcart.
     
  11. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eh, why are people stating "with no wifi" when there isn't wifi available when airbourne anyway is there?
     
  12. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly.
     
  13. Teun

    Member Teun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    local wifi?
     
  14. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course.

    Wifi is all the same radio frequency anyway.
     

Share This Page