DS Lite showing single blue line at top screen

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by haddad, Jan 21, 2011.

Jan 21, 2011
  1. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, I just got a DS Lite from a fellow Gba Temper here. And there is a problem (I am really unhappy >_
     
  2. iMasaru

    Member iMasaru GBATemp's™ Retired Cheats Co-Compiler

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my friend had the same problem, its most likely caused by dropping the DS from a high place or dropping it on hard ground. Your best bet would be to speak to the person that sold you the DS, as you'd most likely have to get it sent for repairs.
     
  3. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    you can talk to that fellow temper or you need to change the top screen
     
  4. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say something to the person who sold it to you first and see how that goes. if it goes bad just replace the screen its not as hard as it looks just go easy on the ribbon cable when putting it through the hinge.
     
  5. gokujr1000

    Member gokujr1000 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    Australia
    This happened to my old NDS when I dropped it.
     
  6. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    can somebody link me to the cheapest ds lite top screen and a good tutorial please?
     
  7. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have a link but just check the usual sites like DX, lightake, and shoptemp. When I bought my replacement screen for a busted lite I bought off ebay I got if off of shoptemp obviously thats not an option now tho. As for a tut I did not need one I thought it was pretty obvious what I needed to do but for you I'd say youtube for one.


    You will need like a 15 watt soldering iron tho so you can swap the speakers to the new screen.
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    I think Price Angels sells replacement screens. They're also really cheap.
     
  9. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    All I want to is to replace the screen, not the speakers. Why is the screen and the speakers attached to eachother?
     
  10. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but it's not hard to do. It's only 4 points that need to be soldered.
     
  11. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    Cheapest top screen is on GBAtemp's partner site Lightake.
     
  12. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Would it be this one?

    http://www.shoptemp.com/Genuine_Nintend...Lite_p1791.html

    --EDIT--

    The seller said that it is not his fault the blue line is there. And he said that he tested everything before he shipped it out. And I also wonder how can that happen and the packaging that he sent it with is SO perfectly, protective and sturdy. Weird =_=
     
  13. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    so who's fault is it?
     
  14. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    bump..
     
  15. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    >:(



    Just get a top screen replacement. Even better, just open the thing and see if the ribbon cable was somehow disconnected. Highly improbable, but... still worth a try.
     
  16. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    But don't u think it is the seller's fault? As I said before, the packaging was REALLY good and sealed and protected and I don't know how the screen got like this >_
     
  17. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I didn't want to bump this, but I have a similar problem..
    My top DSi screen has a faint blue tint, and a little discoloration.
    I don't want to replace my screen since I can't afford a new one.
    I don't want to give it to nintendo because nintendo didn't even want to put my country in the "select country" section on my DS.
    Is it really a ribbon-cable problem?
     
  18. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It could actually be a bad screen. It's not that unheard of to have one. I had to change my MBP screen after under 1 year because it had started to have color problems around the whole screen..


    -Qtis
     

Share This Page