DS lite flashing help

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by ptpeter, Jun 21, 2006.

Jun 21, 2006

DS lite flashing help by ptpeter at 2:06 AM (1,490 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. ptpeter
    OP

    Newcomer ptpeter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I asked one question earlier and got some help and now I have one final question. Im planning on getting a DS lite this week, im a little worried about flashing it manually since I heard of the problems people were having. Is it safer to just get a passkey card and do it that way? Because if it is, i rather do that. Thanks
     
  2. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    no it not safer. your ds can get bricked by malicious files. using flashme prevents that. anyways. just get a max media launcher. and sell it on ebay. and its not too hard to flash a ds. if anything if you brick it you can return it and say it wouldnt turn on
     
  3. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you really want to have to use a passme/passcard device everytime you want to play a DS roms? Yes it is safer to use a passme device as such but flashme has a lot of advantages as it has a failsafe feature that once it's installed you have no need to worry about your DS being bricked by malicious code.

    I suggest you read through my flashme guide to get the facts on installing it.

    Although if you wish to use a passme or passcard device that's up to you but it's certainly a lot more of a hassle.
     
  4. ptpeter
    OP

    Newcomer ptpeter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Are the DS lites that easy to brick if flashing with Flashme?

    p.s. If you brick one of these could you return it to walmart, I mean would they accept it?
     
  5. ozzyzak

    Member ozzyzak GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Not really.
     
  6. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    No, I've flashed my DS Lite twice with no problem. Just make sure you follow the instructions in the guide. The only thing you must avoid is your DS turning off, which you can prevent from happening. Just be careful.

    *edit*

    Technically you could return it to the store and say "It doesn't turn on". but that'd be upto you [​IMG]
     
  7. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    yeah you can return it to walmart especially walmart lol. as long as theres no physicall evidence they cant say anthing. there stupid anyway. when i bought mine the lady was shocked that it was more the 20 bucks
     
  8. jimmy1

    Newcomer jimmy1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Norway
    is it possible to play nds commercial games if i use this method and flash nds games to a gba flashcart, like x-rom?? plug and play, or is this only for homebrew games??
     
  9. nintendofreak

    Member nintendofreak Around. Shoot me a PM.

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,333
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Cal Poly Pomona / (323)
    Country:
    United States
    yup, you can play your commercial backups with the x-rom. But i dont think compatability is too good [​IMG]. You would have to convert them to .nds.gba format so that you can put them on your card... I suggest getting at least a Supercard sd, which has near perfect nds and homebrew compatability [​IMG]
     
  10. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    i have an x-rom and it has bad ds compatability. dont waste your time. it has to patch with kains nds patcher. and it has to be 256 mbites or less
     
  11. jimmy1

    Newcomer jimmy1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Norway
    then what should i get to play commercial games on my nds lite?
     

Share This Page

Loading...