DS-Link, have any questions or tests?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by shtonkalot, Sep 18, 2006.

Sep 18, 2006
  1. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi all.
    I have received my DS-Link and am fairly impressed.

    Thought some people out there would like some questions answered about it.
    Anyone have a particular thing they'd like to know?

    Does a particular ROM run?
    Homebrew programs?
    Client software usability?
    what does DS-Link smell like?

    Ask away!

    All DS-Link owners please answer!
     


  2. djgarf

    Former Staff djgarf I Am A Raver

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,955
    Location:
    England U.K.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why not do a review and submit it to our members review competition?
     
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    A review of the DSLink by Shaunj66 is on the way. He really does work hard to write his reviews so it may take a few days before his review is ready; meaning you can post yours first if you want.

    Also can you test Castlevania's intro and tell me if there are slowdowns? (you know, the anime movie intro that lags on almost every other adapters/fc)

    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  4. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys, thanks for the suggestion to do a review but I think I'll wait a bit longer if I'm to do a review.
    I only got the cart this morning and don't think I can give it a very good over all appraisal yet.

    Costello, I'm happy to report with my 512MB Kingston Micro-SD card that the Castlevania intro is nearly perfect. It stutters once through the whole thing only skipping a few frames. Sound is perfect.
    4.5/5 I reckon!

    On my EZ-Flash IV lite (latest firmware / client) the same card plays the movie fairly poorly. The EZ-Flash IV lite was able to play only about 50% of the movie (in bits) at full speed, the rest was horrible. The sound was distorted throughout too.
     
  5. duinroosje

    Newcomer duinroosje Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands

    what version of dslite are you running, did you already update?
     
  6. IxthusTiger

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Do you also have a SanDisk by any chance?
     
  7. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible to do a firmware update to include nopass code?
     
  8. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes I also have a Sandisk 1GB Micro-SD. Just a vanilla one, no ultra-mega-turbo edition 17.
    I'll check the Castlevania intro on it and update this post in the next few hours. I assume that's what you would like?
    **update**
    WOW! I tried my Sandisk 1GB out and it was poor compared to the kingston. Very choppy video.
    The sound was fine though and overall it was better than the kingston was in my EZ-Flash IV lite.
     
  9. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't say no to that as I don't know exactly how a nopass device works.
    I'm fairly sure that you need different hardware though, so my asumption is NO!
     
  10. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    well its just part of the cart code. like when you click it where it goes. i am pretty sure it can be done. can you contact them?
     
  11. dreary79

    Member dreary79 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Idaho USA
    Country:
    United States
    Does sleep work?

    Does Animal Crossing have long wait times when enter into your house?

    Is yours a Chinese or English cart? Do these carts use different firmware?

    Is your kingston a 60x?
     
  12. sipoon

    Member sipoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    New Zealand
    you gotto test out the rumble pak, I don't think any reviews have covered that yet
     
  13. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    the chinese review did on yyjoy, and clearly was stated that it was no problem. As was the RAM expansion pack to run Opera.
     
  14. ryohki

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    how does it handle the newer roms?
    as in starwars, havest moon.
     
  15. melloncollie

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    The sites up.
    You can get the firmware update.
     
  16. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That's a great idea!, you gotta send me the rumble pack! [​IMG]
     
  17. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well the site is up [​IMG]
    But I can't see a link to download the firmware [​IMG]

    The only download on the download page of their site seems to be a patch for the client software.
     
  18. melloncollie

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
  19. shtonkalot
    OP

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks melloncollie but unfortunately there are two problems with that file.
    1. It is hosted on dslink.cn which is not the official DS-Link site.
    2. The .zip file is corrupt! at least every time I download it.
     
  20. melloncollie

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Shite. Well I'll host the file I downloaded. I'll edit the post when it's uploaded.

    Edit: Here's the Filefront Download
     

Share This Page