DS(i) NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Robz8, Jan 5, 2019.

  1. BwillF3

    BwillF3 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 26, 2019
    United States
    I know that if I install hiyaCFW using an SD card over 2GB then there will be an error, which can be worked around by replacing the system menu with TWilight Menu++, but if I do that, can I use other custom applications and if so, how?
     
  2. banjo2

    banjo2 little man

    Member
    7
    May 31, 2016
    United States
    gamer armchair
    TWLMenu++ runs most .nds files (and .app, I believe), so, any DSiWare (including homebrew DSiWare) applications should be bootable via TWLMenu++, you have Unlaunch installed.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. GurenTonic

    GurenTonic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 8, 2019
    United States
    Is there anyway to make Unlaunch boot the game cart right away when the system is turned on without pressing any buttons? When I try I just get a black screen instead of my flash card.
     
  4. PokeNev

    PokeNev GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    3
    Nov 11, 2018
    United States
    Go to options, then go to on launch or start or something, say Gamecart
     
  5. GurenTonic

    GurenTonic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 8, 2019
    United States
    Yeah, that's what I tried, but I still just get a black screen. The more I look at it though, the more it seems I just can't boot game carts through unlaunch at all. Maybe I have an out of date version?
     
  6. Deinexim

    Deinexim Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2019
    Mexico
    I am following the dsi.cfw.guide, and I'm stuck trying to install UnLaunch. When I pressed A on "fwTool.nds" like it told me, it just gave me a white screen. I downloaded all the right files, and I'm on 1.4.5J, if that's of any help. I don't know if I can turn it off and try again, or if that will brick my system. I've heard that the latest release of Unlaunch (the one I downloaded) could be unstable, but I don't know if that's really the case, since I haven't even gotten to the part of actually installing Unlaunch yet. I'm just trying to back up my NAND. Can anyone help me?
     
  7. Deinexim

    Deinexim Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 9, 2019
    Mexico
    Nevermind, I fixed it. It turns out that I opened '_fwTool.nds' instead of 'fwTool.nds' (without the underscore at the start).
     
  8. CyanThePerson

    CyanThePerson Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 7, 2019
    United States
    hiyacfw-related problem, apparently system menu just now has the "error has occurred" problem (used to work before, the sd card is higher than 2gb)
     
  9. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Fill the SD card so that there's 2GB or less left.
     
    CyanThePerson likes this.
  10. ProtoReignz

    ProtoReignz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 10, 2019
    Canada
    Hello again,
    I wanted to ask 2 questions. None of the versions for ultimate spiderman are working and I've tried all of them am I doing something wrong?
    And the other thing is how do I get my genesis ROMs to work? I have mine in .md and can't find them anywhere in .gen is there a converter or anything?
    Thank You!
     
  11. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    Try holding L after pressing A/START to launch the game.
    If that doesn't fix it, it's probably just isn't compatible.
    Rename to .gen
     
  12. ProtoReignz

    ProtoReignz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 10, 2019
    Canada
    2 questions once again, can you use online with the mod and can you load homebrew or is it on a compatible basis?
     
  13. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    1. Yes.
    2. It's on a compatible basis.
     
  14. ProtoReignz

    ProtoReignz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 10, 2019
    Canada
    Is there a list of compatible homebrew or is it just trial and error?
     
  15. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    alexander1970 likes this.
  16. lexluth0r

    lexluth0r GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    6
    Aug 5, 2011
    United States
    I have a ds lite what can I do with it in terms of hacking?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  17. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp allows me to be here

    Member
    13
    Nov 8, 2018
    Austria
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    You can use FLASHME to get rid of the Safety and Health Screen.:D
    And to boot some Slot 1 or Slot 2 Flashcards directly.

    Thank you.:)
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  18. Robz8
    OP

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    pip Developer
    19
    Oct 1, 2010
    United States
    You can install FlashMe. That's pretty much it. :P
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  19. Dentus

    Dentus Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 17, 2019
    United States
    Has anyone developed homebrew that uses local ds's connections (not internet)?

    Thanks
     
  20. banjo2

    banjo2 little man

    Member
    7
    May 31, 2016
    United States
    gamer armchair
    Do you mean wireless connection like multi-card games? If so, I believe GBARunner2 can simulate the GBA link cable. I've also seen some older DS homebrew that can supposedly transfer data to another DS.
     
    Robz8 and alexander1970 like this.
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...