Homebrew DS(i) NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

Kris_CL

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Messages
118
Trophies
0
Location
your mom's
XP
233
Country
Chile
Uh i'm stuck hacking my dsi, i'm using the cfw dsi guide (https://dsi.cfw.guide/installing-unlaunch) and i'm stuck at "4. Hover over the TWiLight Menu++ options and find the one that has a path containing settings.srldr on the bottom screen" whenever i hover over the option the only path is where my boot.nds is located

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Uh i'm stuck hacking my dsi, i'm using the cfw dsi guide (https://dsi.cfw.guide/installing-unlaunch) and i'm stuck at "4. Hover over the TWiLight Menu++ options and find the one that has a path containing settings.srldr on the bottom screen" whenever i hover over the option the only path is where my boot.nds is located
NEVERMIND i figured it out sorry for wasting your time
 

MarcusF

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
46
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. First of all I want to say thank you to all the community for all the work you have done and continue to do with hacking and homebrew on the DSI. I am interested in playing my backed up ROMs and we'll as GBA ROMs all on one device. From what I've been reading am I right in saying this is now possible without the use of flash carts and can all work off of a SD card, and if so what is the maximum size as I currently have a 64gb SD lying around I could use but thought I read 32gb was the maximum size? Thank you.
 

banjo2

gamer
Member
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,259
Trophies
1
Location
society
Website
youtube.com
XP
4,340
Country
United States
Hello. First of all I want to say thank you to all the community for all the work you have done and continue to do with hacking and homebrew on the DSI. I am interested in playing my backed up ROMs and we'll as GBA ROMs all on one device. From what I've been reading am I right in saying this is now possible without the use of flash carts and can all work off of a SD card, and if so what is the maximum size as I currently have a 64gb SD lying around I could use but thought I read 32gb was the maximum size? Thank you.
64 GB should be fine as long as you format it correctly (the guide will set you up with that), I believe the theoretical limit is 2 TB(?)
 

humble428

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
22
Country
Brazil
I cant play Pokemon games on twilightmenu, it says there is a communication error error for some reason and goes to a white screen, is there a reason for that and a way to fix it?
 

lilhaaz

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
14
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Pokemon HeartGold keeps crashing, but I don't know why.

So whenever I try going into buildings or battles, the screen turns black but music keeps playing. it's been happening a lot throughout the game and i have the latest version of TWiLightMenu++ as well.
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,255
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,048
Country
Argentina
Hi,

Pokemon HeartGold keeps crashing, but I don't know why.

So whenever I try going into buildings or battles, the screen turns black but music keeps playing. it's been happening a lot throughout the game and i have the latest version of TWiLightMenu++ as well.

You need a bigger save file. I use a 2 MB save file for Heart Gold and Soul Silver and works fine.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
3DS, but needing a bigger safefile is a know issue in these games.
Maybe, but I never heard of anyone needing or suggesting a larger save file with nds-bootstrap though, whether the user uses a DSi or 3DS console.
Even the save file melonDS creates is 512KB, and TWLMenu++ uses the save size list from melonDS as well.

You seem to be the only one whose issues are fixed by using a larger save file, when running the game via nds-bootstrap.
How about you try trimming the save file down to 512KB? (Make a backup first, ofc.) Maybe the issue you've had has been fixed for a long time now.
If trimming it down causes issues, then nds-bootstrap probably needs a fix where it only reads somewhere in the save file, when past the actual size, thus emulating save mirroring.
Hi,

Pokemon HeartGold keeps crashing, but I don't know why.

So whenever I try going into buildings or battles, the screen turns black but music keeps playing. it's been happening a lot throughout the game and i have the latest version of TWiLightMenu++ as well.
If you're using a DSi, the issue is caused by the RTC not being handled correctly.
Aside from switching to a 3DS console, it is currently unknown how to fix this.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,255
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,048
Country
Argentina
Pokemon Black and White, Pokemon Black and White 2 and Pokemon Heart Gold and Soul Silver need bigger save files, that has been know for years. That's not only due to the anti piracy measures but because the games store a lot more data.

Edit: Disgaea DS also needs a bigger save file otherwise at some point you may lose all your save data.
 
Last edited by raxadian,

wavemotion

Benign Geek
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
586
Trophies
1
XP
4,000
Country
United States
NooB here.

So I saw that there was a branch release of GBARUNNER2 that was specific to the DSi ... I think it might move some things around in the extra memory space so that much larger games can be loaded and there is a rumor (not confirmed by me) that it has higher compatibility than the standard GBARUNNER2 builds.

However... since it's on a branch, it doesn't include some of the new quality of life changes like the new DSP sound handling which improves sound.

So my question is this... how likely is it that someone will either pull forward (I'm sure this isn't the right terms... but I don't know the terminology) changes from the mainline into the DSi "higher compatibility" branch? Or the reverse... pulling whatever magic exists in the DSi branch to the mainline so that those of us using a DSi would get the benefit of the "higher compatibility" (again, this is all theoretical as I've not tried it yet).

Dave
 

IcyZ1ne

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
18
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I hacked my Nintendo DSi a long time ago and forgot what I did to it, tried to update my UNLAUNCH version (currently 1.8 and changing to 1.9) but when I boot it up I just get the unlaunch screen with no options in it! what do I do! (P.S. it seems to only happen while I have my micro ds inserted, when I take it out, and boot it up without it, the menu appears just fine)
a.jpeg
 
Last edited by IcyZ1ne,

banjo2

gamer
Member
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,259
Trophies
1
Location
society
Website
youtube.com
XP
4,340
Country
United States
Hello, I hacked my Nintendo DSi a long time ago and forgot what I did to it, tried to update my UNLAUNCH version (currently 1.8 and changing to 1.9) but when I boot it up I just get the unlaunch screen with no options in it! what do I do! (P.S. it seems to only happen while I have my micro ds inserted, when I take it out, and boot it up without it, the menu appears just fine)
View attachment 273427
Try following the SD card setup guide
Also, Unlaunch 2.0 is safe, that page hasn't been updated in almost 2 years
 

IcyZ1ne

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 18, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
18
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for the response! Ive reformatted my SD card,and it still hadn't worked, however by pure luck I figured out that my SD adapter had died and went to get a new one and everything works now!
 

putopavel

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 4, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
16
Country
Spain
Hello.

I am unable to play multi-player games via wireless communication. I am using a DSi and a New 3DS XL, both using TWL++ (19.1.1 for N3DS and 16.5.0 for DSi). It never works for "DS Download Play" (after the "demo" is downloaded, the other console gets an error); only for some games when being played with the same ROM.

Why is this happening?

PS: I think it has nothing to do, but I am using open WiFi (no encryption) just in case.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeffyTheHomebrewer

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
415
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
1,952
Country
United States
Hello.

I am unable to play multi-player games via wireless communication. I am using a DSi and a New 3DS XL, both using TWL++ (19.1.1 for N3DS and 16.5.0 for DSi). It never works for "DS Download Play" (after the "demo" is downloaded, the other console gets an error); only for some games when being played with the same ROM.

Why is this happening?

PS: I think it has nothing to do, but I am using open WiFi (no encryption) just in case.
You need to update TWiLight Menu++ and nds-bootstrap, it's likely the games that don't work are using cloneboot Download Play which was only fixed in nds-bootstrap v0.44.2 (included in TWiLight Menu++ v21.1.1): https://wiki.ds-homebrew.com/twilightmenu/updating

If any games still don't work on the latest update then maybe try disabling Async Card Read and/or Card Read DMA in their per-game settings (press Y on the game in TWiLight). And yeah, your Wi-Fi network doesn't have any impact on local DS multiplayer as they're just connecting to each other directly.
 

wavemotion

Benign Geek
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
586
Trophies
1
XP
4,000
Country
United States
Hey all...

In looking to support custom full-lower-screen overlays (256x192x8) for Nintellivision, does anyone know of any simple to drop-in code I could beg/borrow/steal that will read an 8-bit .BMP and render it on the screen? I can probably figure it out and write my own but thought it might have been done a few dozen times before :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Slim Jim Monster Sonic Chili Cheese Dog Flavor, 1.94 Oz (Pack Of 18) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08MC9KVDG/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_V2DMVRA3YQPJZF2F4Q95
    Gift
  • E @ evanm18:
    why is it so hard to find a list of cheats for gta vice city 1.0.5
    Gift
  • Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Gitgud