1. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    In the arm9 Makefile, try changing the .spec file to the other one used in the other emulators, then run "make clean" and then "make".
     
    alexander1970, banjo2 and wavemotion like this.
  2. wavemotion

    wavemotion GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2020
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    That worked, @Robz8 ! Loads directly on my R4 clone card and, of course, works great under TWL++ on my DSi machines.

    You are half-man, half-amazing!

    Is there any drawback to reverting the use of the .spec file?
     
    alexander1970, banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  3. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    The only drawback is that TWLCFG near the start of the RAM is overwritten.
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  4. wavemotion

    wavemotion GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2020
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Um... :)

    Let me ask it a different way: are you okay with my reverting it or does it cause issues loading into/out of TWL++?
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  5. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    I'm okay with it, though it'll cause returning to TWLMenu++ to be like a second longer, since it reloads a backup of TWLCFG, if not found in memory.
    Why do you want the emulator to boot in regular flashcard kernels though?
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  6. wavemotion

    wavemotion GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2020
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Mainly because not everyone will want to run TWL++ if they have an R4 or similar flashcart. They may just want to slap on the .NDS and go. That's what I did for the last couple of years. In short: I'd like to make access to the emulator as easy as possible and if I don't have to force someone to use TWL++ (superior though it may be!) or HBMENU, I'd like them to be able to launch it directly and easily.
     
    ber71, Robz8, banjo2 and 1 other person like this.
  7. bababoster

    bababoster Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Albania
    is there any way to remove nocash unlaunch because i cannot move anything into my dsi using an sd card
     
  8. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Try to Live in here and now.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12,369
    Country:
    Austria
    banjo2 likes this.
  9. Somefin

    Somefin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Finland
    my dsi xl shows the hiyacfw logo and then both of the screens go white everytime when i turn the console on but i can still play my cartridges by launching them with unlaunch
    =(
     
  10. Somefin

    Somefin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Finland
    my dsi xl shows the hiyacfw logo and then both of the screens go white everytime when i turn the console on but i can still play my cartridges by launching them with unlaunch
    =(
     
  11. Somefin

    Somefin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Finland
    my dsi xl shows the hiyacfw logo and then both of the screens go white everytime when i turn the console on but i can still play my cartridges by launching them with unlaunch
    =(
     
  12. Thorgoo

    Thorgoo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, I would like to update my Unlaunch and TWLM++. Currently on my DSi SD card I have an Unlaunch.nds and not an Unlaunch.dsi. Should I replace that to update unlaunch? Then afterwards I assume I have to copy the TWLM++ files in the process mentioned on <link to relevant website>

    Also, Is it a better idea to update Twilight menu first, or to update unlaunch first?

    My apologies if it seems I do not know what I am talking about because I genuinely don't.

    Regards,
    Thorgoo
     
  13. Pk11

    Pk11 A cat girl with a DSi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    How big is your SD card and how long did you wait? On large SD cards it can take quite a while for hiyaCFW to boot, so you might just need to wait longer.
    If you don't need the SDNAND version of the home menu what you can do is just boot the first "Launcher" from Unlaunch and it'll take you to the SysNAND DSi Menu and to boot to TWiLight Menu++ you can boot the "TWiLight Menu++" that shows "sdmc:/BOOT.NDS" on the bottom screen, both of which boot fast regardless of the SD card size.

    It doesn't matter which order you update them in.

    https://wiki.ds-homebrew.com/twilightmenu/updating-dsi is the official guide for updating TWiLight and for Unlaunch just follow the relevant parts of https://dsi.cfw.guide/installing-unlaunch again.

    If you already have Unlaunch v1.8 or newer then there's not really much benefit to updating fyi, anything older than that it's probably good to update though.
     
  14. Thorgoo

    Thorgoo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the information. I just checked - My version says 1.9 when I run it on my DSi, so I guess that is ok.

    My current version of TWiL++ is v9 so this will be quite an upgrade!

    Is there a changelog available for unlaunch?

    Thorgoo
     
    Last edited by Thorgoo, Jan 22, 2021
  15. Pk11

    Pk11 A cat girl with a DSi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, on https://web.archive.org/web/20201112031436/https://problemkaputt.de/unlaunch.htm, scroll down to the "Release Notes" section (archive.org page linked because the real site is currently down due to nocash changing his hosting)
     
  16. YoheiruYkatchi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    how do i uninstall hiya cfw that was install with ugopwn exploit?
     
  17. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    Just delete the SDNAND files as well as the "hiya" folder and .dsi file.
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  18. YoheiruYkatchi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Thats really it? cause i wanted to factory reset my dsi to get back flipnote studio and then install hiya with the camera exploit
     
  19. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    Doing a system format won't redownload deleted software.
     
    banjo2 and alexander1970 like this.
  20. YoheiruYkatchi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    i still the get the unlaunch screen
     
  21. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    600
    Country:
    United States
    You could try whitlisting the DSi's MAC address on a spare router, then wire your PC directly into that same router
     
  22. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,091
    Country:
    United States
    You have to restore a NAND backup from before you installed Unlaunch, using Safe NAND Manager.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, DS(i)