Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,254
Trophies
2
XP
19,898
Country
United States
v24.8.0

Includes nds-bootstrap v0.57.1

What's new?
  • @DeadSkullzJr: Added AP-fix for Pokémon: SoothingSilver Version (v1.2.0).
  • DSi theme: Added support for rumble, when moving the cursor!
    • Requires the DS Rumble Pak, Drill Dozer, or WarioWare: Twisted.
  • A message will now appear when attempting to launch a DSiWare title from a flashcard in DS mode on DSi or 3DS consoles.
  • The donor ROM message can no longer be skipped without viewing the second page of it.
  • 3DS theme: Message box now pops up instead of sliding in.
Bug fixes
  • Save files are now checked before the per-game settings are shown, instead of selecting a save slot.
  • Fixed reverting to DSi theme after rebooting with GBC theme set.
  • Fixed donor ROM message not appearing if nds-bootstrap setting (for DS games) is disabled when launching DSiWare titles from flashcard.
  • Tried fixing autoboot with hiyaCFW not working (thus, untested).
    • Icon is now not animated in hiyaCFW.
I updated both ds and 3ds. the ds is fine. the 3ds has a bug though. when you go to the exit menu several times in a row, the ds game freezes. it wasn't like that on the previous version. I only tested new super mario bros.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,299
Trophies
2
Age
23
XP
18,101
Country
United States
I updated both ds and 3ds. the ds is fine. the 3ds has a bug though. when you go to the exit menu several times in a row, the ds game freezes. it wasn't like that on the previous version. I only tested new super mario bros.
Literally the only change made to nds-bootstrap (outside of B4DS mode) was the fix for MvDK4. There is no way it could cause this issue.
Maybe the occurrence of this issue is rare, that it could also happen in the previous version?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,254
Trophies
2
XP
19,898
Country
United States
Literally the only change made to nds-bootstrap (outside of B4DS mode) was the fix for MvDK4. There is no way it could cause this issue.
Maybe the occurrence of this issue is rare, that it could also happen in the previous version?
couldn't say. I tried it three times, and the same thing happened every time after about four times.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
15,299
Trophies
2
Age
23
XP
18,101
Country
United States
So I am running Art Academy (DSi enhanced). The gallery pictures keep being marked as corrupt and deleted. Any way to fix it?
Try switching "Run in" to "DS mode" in the per-game settings menu.
If the issue persists, then use a hex editor to double the save size.
 

Durofoam

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 15, 2022
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
?
XP
36
Country
United States
Hi,
I installed cfw onto my 3ds with the "3ds hacks guide" about half a month ago and I'm trying to play a randomized version of pokemon black (randomized with universal pokemon randomizer) using twilight menu++ but I went through the first rival battle and my pokemon didn't get any xp. I tried several different randomized roms each with different settings with no luck in all. I'm pretty sure the issue is either an anti-piracy feature or there's just some buck with randomized pokemon games on twilight menu++. I was wondering if there's a way to fix this or otherwise get around it. Thanks for any help in advance.
 

banjo2

gamer
Member
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
2,287
Trophies
1
Location
society
Website
youtube.com
XP
4,550
Country
United States
Hi,
I installed cfw onto my 3ds with the "3ds hacks guide" about half a month ago and I'm trying to play a randomized version of pokemon black (randomized with universal pokemon randomizer) using twilight menu++ but I went through the first rival battle and my pokemon didn't get any xp. I tried several different randomized roms each with different settings with no luck in all. I'm pretty sure the issue is either an anti-piracy feature or there's just some buck with randomized pokemon games on twilight menu++. I was wondering if there's a way to fix this or otherwise get around it. Thanks for any help in advance.
You have to manually AP-patch the ROM before randomizing it, using DS-Scene ROM Tool
 
  • Like
Reactions: Durofoam

Durofoam

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 15, 2022
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
?
XP
36
Country
United States
I assumed you've already done that since you mentioned Anti-Piracy, otherwise i would have suggested it. :)
Actually I've never done one before, but I think I've found a tutorial and I'm a pretty fast learner. I only know about the anti-piracy measures cause I stumbled across a random post lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe

the-technician34

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
122
Location
Mars
XP
10
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm looking for a bit of advice for a DS Flash Card. I've been using a DSTwo autobooting to Twilight Menu and it's been great up until now but it has sadly died. I've also had issues with other dodgy flash cards. I'm looking for a flash card that will work with DSI and work with Twilight Menu by autobooting straight to it. I also need shipping to UK. Any ideas please?
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
837
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
2,768
Country
United States
Hi all, I'm looking for a bit of advice for a DS Flash Card. I've been using a DSTwo autobooting to Twilight Menu and it's been great up until now but it has sadly died. I've also had issues with other dodgy flash cards. I'm looking for a flash card that will work with DSI and work with Twilight Menu by autobooting straight to it. I also need shipping to UK. Any ideas please?
The r/flashcarts quick start guide is a good summary of what's easily available at the moment. All three options there can autoboot TWiLight and I think should be able to be used with the kernel, though I think only YSMenu is supported for kernel loading from TWiLight on the DSONE, not EOS. Just avoid the DSONE clones unless you have Unlaunch installed as they won't work on DSi without it.

Also, just in case you haven't already, have you tried using a different SD card? DS flashcards tend to be fairly reliable from all I've seen, but it's not uncommon for an SD card to just kinda die so it could actually be that your flashcard is fine and it's just the SD that died. I'm sure they do die occasionally though...
 

the-technician34

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
122
Location
Mars
XP
10
Country
United Kingdom
The link is a good summary of what's easily available at the moment. All three options there can autoboot TWiLight and I think should be able to be used with the kernel, though I think only YSMenu is supported for kernel loading from TWiLight on the DSONE, not EOS. Just avoid the DSONE clones unless you have Unlaunch installed as they won't work on DSi without it.

Also, just in case you haven't already, have you tried using a different SD card? DS flashcards tend to be fairly reliable from all I've seen, but it's not uncommon for an SD card to just kinda die so it could actually be that your flashcard is fine and it's just the SD that died. I'm sure they do die occasionally though...
Thank you. I tried a different SD Card and it appears to be working fine now! The other card was working fine for years, it works fine in my PC, a genuine kingston - same brand as the one that now works, no idea why it started having issues!

But the new sd card seems to be behaving. So thank you.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Well I got them from you