Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

Bean_BR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
273
Trophies
0
XP
657
Country
Brazil
I'm almost certain it's the SD card being the problem. Have you tried formatting your SD card yet?
It's brand new (SanDisk 32GB class 10) and I've already formatted it with the SD Association formatter. This problem started recently after updating TwilightMenu. Everyhting else runs fine (even the Nintendo Badge Arcade which I believe is very read/write intensive).
 

Fr4nk1904

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
16
Country
Brazil
hello, i'm having problems trying to play digimon lost evolution through twilight menu, the game always crashes after a few minutes of play, i've already had 4 different roms but the problem remains. Sorry for any mistakes, English is not my main language.
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
hello, i'm having problems trying to play digimon lost evolution through twilight menu, the game always crashes after a few minutes of play, i've already had 4 different roms but the problem remains. Sorry for any mistakes, English is not my main language.
Try turning off both SWI Halt Hook and Asynch Card Read in TWLMenu++ Settings.
If they're already turned off, you might need to AP-patch the clean ROM, before patching it with the English patch.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2
Updates

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
v23.0.0: Halloween Eve release

Includes nds-bootstrap v0.50.0

What's new?
  • Donor ROMs are now only settable when
    1. Running from a flashcard in DS mode, in order to run the few B4DS-supported DSi-Exclusives.
    2. Running from the console's SD card while in DSiWarehax, in order to run DSi-Enhanced titles in DSi mode, as well as a few certain DSiWare titles.
  • When you get a message saying to set a Donor ROM, you can now press Right on the D-Pad to see how to set a Donor ROM.
  • In per-game settings, a title's SDK sub-version is now displayed!
  • In per-game settings, when setting DSi mode for a DSi-Enhanced title, `VRAM mode` is now shown as `Auto`, as depending on the title, it may or may not use it.
  • The used DSiWare exploit on DSi consoles is now automatically detected.
  • The latest version of S8DS is now included!
Improvements
  • The settings description text is slightly smaller.
  • (@Pk11 and various) Updated translations.
  • Some more DSiWare ROMs can now be set as a Donor ROM (ex. DSi Sound, DSi Browser, DS WiFi Settings, Bejeweled Twist, etc.).
  • Changed `DSi mode` to `Auto`, and changed `DSi mode (Forced)` to `DSi mode`, both to avoid some confusion.
Bug fixes
  • Fixed the long-standing bug of lockups during reading/writing of either the console's SD card or the CycloDS iEvolution, so you no longer need to close and open the console's lid (or press HOME and B buttons) whenever a lockup would occur!
    • IPC Sync is now used instead of FIFO.
    • CycloDS iEvolution's DLDI code now runs from ARM7 (in DSi mode).
  • Fixed the AP-fix for Anpanman to Touch de Waku Waku Training to not require a Donor ROM.
  • Other minor fixes.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,

Fr4nk1904

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 25, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
16
Country
Brazil
Try turning off both SWI Halt Hook and Asynch Card Read in TWLMenu++ Settings.
If they're already turned off, you might need to AP-patch the clean ROM, before patching it with the English patch.
thanks for the help, i tried these 2 methods but the game still keeps crashing.
 
Updates

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
v23.0.1

Includes nds-bootstrap v0.50.1

What's new?
  • TWLMenu++ Splash Screen: The Rocket Robz logo has been moved to before the TWLMenu++ logo is shown.
Bug fixes
  • Fixed the TWL clock speed blacklist not being read when launching games in widescreen.
  • (@lifehackerhansol) As specific DSONE SDHCs are incompatible with the original DLDI, both SDHC and Non-SDHC versions of the DSONE autoboot file are now available!
  • InfraRed features should now work in Slot-1 card games.
  • Fixed where the TWLMenu++ jingle sometimes wouldn't play.
 

PinkCelebi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
United States
Just wondering, but does TWi support box art on flashcarts? I tried using the TWi-box-art Windows program and while it worked for the SD card in the DSi, I just get a grey question mark even though all the images are present in the /_nds/TWiLightMenu/boxart on the flashcart. I've just updated to 23.0.1, but it was happening on 22.2 as well.

Also, the _nds folder seems to be missing from TWi's menu - is there any way to make it visible?
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
Just wondering, but does TWi support box art on flashcarts? I tried using the TWi-box-art Windows program and while it worked for the SD card in the DSi, I just get a grey question mark even though all the images are present in the /_nds/TWiLightMenu/boxart on the flashcart. I've just updated to 23.0.1, but it was happening on 22.2 as well.
Yes, box art is supported on flashcards, though no clue as to why they wouldn't be read on flashcard, when the same files are read on the console's SD card.
Also, the _nds folder seems to be missing from TWi's menu - is there any way to make it visible?
No. If your game ROMs are in that folder, you should move them out of the folder.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

PinkCelebi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
United States
Yes, box art is supported on flashcards, though no clue as to why they wouldn't be read on flashcard, when the same files are read on the console's SD card.
I have separate box art files on my flashcart SD card and DSi SD card - could this be the cause of it not showing up?

No. If your game ROMs are in that folder, you should move them out of the folder.
No, my ROMs are in a separate ROMs folder. I just wanted to view it (like if I needed to verify that my box art files are in the correct folder) without having to plug it into my computer or boot into YSMenu lol.
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
I have separate box art files on my flashcart and DSi - could this be the cause of it not showing up?
What do you mean?
In the boxart folder, the .png files should just be shown as ASME.png or whatever, depending on the game. No additional folders needed.
I have separate box art files on my flashcart and DSi - could this be the cause of it not showing up?


No, my ROMs are in a separate ROMs folder. I just wanted to view it (like if I needed to verify that my box art files are in the correct folder) without having to plug it into my computer or booting into YSMenu lol.
TWiLight Menu++ does not display every file. You can use GodMode9i to do that, and can be launched from within TWLMenu++.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

PinkCelebi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
United States
What do you mean?
In the boxart folder, the .png files should just be shown as ASME.png or whatever, depending on the game. No additional folders needed.
I meant I ran the box art program on both my DSi’s SD card and my flashcart’s SD card, as I have different ROMs on both. I’m not sure if that would cause it to conflict.

Actually, I noticed something. Only one game on my flashcart has box art, and that’s Solatorobo. Every other game has a question mark above it. Solatorobo is also the few ROMs I have which are on both my DSi SD and my flashcart SD, and using GM9, I checked both the DSi’s _nds/boxart folder and my flashcart’s _nds/boxart folder. Both DSi and flashcart’s box image files have the same naming scheme, which is weird why it works for every game on my DSi SD, but only works for one game on my flashcart SD.

TWiLight Menu++ does not display every file. You can use GodMode9i to do that, and can be launched from within TWLMenu++.
Forgot about GM9i. Thanks.
 

Bean_BR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
273
Trophies
0
XP
657
Country
Brazil
I'd like to know something: I'm using Acekard 2i with AKAIO on my 3DSXL; if I'm understanding correctly I can install TwilightMenu++ on the 3DS and then use it to play the games from the Acekard, and in case that there is a game that is unsupported (like Golden Sun Dark Dawn) I can just continue using AKAIO for it. As for DSi enhanced games, does their extra features work this way with TwilightMenu?
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,834
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,928
Country
United States
I'd like to know something: I'm using Acekard 2i with AKAIO on my 3DSXL; if I'm understanding correctly I can install TwilightMenu++ on the 3DS and then use it to play the games from the Acekard, and in case that there is a game that is unsupported (like Golden Sun Dark Dawn) I can just continue using AKAIO for it. As for DSi enhanced games, does their extra features work this way with TwilightMenu?
Yes, you can run unsupported games via flashcard.
Also, yes, DSi features (except for WiFi) will be useable that way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2 and Bean_BR

PinkCelebi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
United States
What do you mean?
In the boxart folder, the .png files should just be shown as ASME.png or whatever, depending on the game. No additional folders needed.
Quick update, I was doing some testing and I found out how to get the box art to show.

I have to boot into Unlaunch (holding A+B) and select "TOP TF/SD DS". That will boot me into TWi on my flashcart and box art will show on the top screen properly. And funnily enough, YSMenu boots fine if i launch my flashcart via Unlaunch, then YSMenu via TWi - but it doesn't if I load TWi on my DSi > click select > launch Slot -1 > loads my flashcart's TWi > select YSMenu. That just gives me a black screen up top and a white screen on the bottom.

I'm guessing some setting on my DSi TWi is causing issues with my flashcart's TWi and YSMenu? Idk, but in the meantime, I just set Unlaunch to auto boot Slot-1.

Edit: yeah I give up. Seems 23.0 has broken flashcart and DSi compatibility, so I can only boot TWi on the flashcart or TWi on the DSi, not both (one after another). Serves me right for updating without testing lmao. Will downgrade to 22.2 to see if it fixes the issue, but I'm pretty sure I won't be able to boot my flashcart from TWi on the console anymore. Bummer :/
 
Last edited by PinkCelebi,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/hkpyXTZ +1