Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
for sega genesis only via picodriveTWL no Jnesis option. And for super nintendo it says " To launch this tittle, please restart TWiLight Menu++ from Unlaunch"
In that case, do what it says, and either start TWiLight Menu++ from Unlaunch, or have Unlaunch auto-start TWiLight Menu++.
If you've already done so, make sure Limited Mode is turned off, as it's not recommended for everyday usage, and should only be used for testing in a DSiWarehax environment without an actual exploit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

widhalmaustin

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
4
Country
United States
can someone help me my slot 1 micro is set to off and settings are set to select I have pokemon white inserted in the n2dsxl but its not connecting I'm trying to connect the pokewalker
 
Last edited by widhalmaustin,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
can someone help me my slot 1 micro is set to off and settings are set to select I have pokemon white inserted in the n2dsxl but its not connecting I'm trying to connect the pokewalker
You need to downgrade TWiLight Menu++ and nds-bootstrap to a specific version for IR to work.
The TWLMenu++ version is v12.2.1, and nds-bootstrap version is v0.30.1.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

vgambit

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United States
On my DS Lite, I installed the current version of TWiLight Menu++ on my AceKard 2(i). I have an Ez Flash V installed in slot 2. I was previously using I think akaio as the firmware/menu. DS and GBA games worked fine. But with TM, DS games still work, but GBA games freeze right at the end of the game boy boot animation.

Is there an extra config step I missed? I can't see a way to set it to native; only "Native > GBARunner2" shows. I disabled updating the recently played list, and that didn't help. Setting DLDI access to ARM7 also didn't help. Use nds-bootstrap is set to No per the documentation.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
On my DS Lite, I installed the current version of TWiLight Menu++ on my AceKard 2(i). I have an Ez Flash V installed in slot 2. I was previously using I think akaio as the firmware/menu. DS and GBA games worked fine. But with TM, DS games still work, but GBA games freeze right at the end of the game boy boot animation.

Is there an extra config step I missed? I can't see a way to set it to native; only "Native > GBARunner2" shows. I disabled updating the recently played list, and that didn't help. Setting DLDI access to ARM7 also didn't help. Use nds-bootstrap is set to No per the documentation.
"Native > GBARunner2" means that Native is prioritized and used over GBARunner2, when using a Slot-2 flashcard such as yours.
Unfortunately, it seems your flashcard is incompatible (and can't fix support for it, due to me not owning it), so you'll need to use a different one (such as SuperCard miniSD/microSD), or use GBARunner2 instead.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

vgambit

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United States
"Native > GBARunner2" means that Native is prioritized and used over GBARunner2, when using a Slot-2 flashcard such as yours.
Unfortunately, it seems your flashcard is incompatible (and can't fix support for it, due to me not owning it), so you'll need to use a different one (such as SuperCard miniSD/microSD), or use GBARunner2 instead.

Damn. Is there any way to get TM to load saves from the rom directory, instead of the saves subdirectory? Then I should be able to get the desired functionality; flash cart in the DS Lite for DS and GBA games, and in the 3DS for just DS games.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
Damn. Is there any way to get TM to load saves from the rom directory, instead of the saves subdirectory? Then I should be able to get the desired functionality; flash cart in the DS Lite for DS and GBA games, and in the 3DS for just DS games.
The launched game's save is automatically moved outside of the "saves" folder for the flashcard kernel to read.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

kralde

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
269
Country
I accidentally broke the script when creating an autoboot file for the r4ids.cn carts. It's fixed and will come back in the next update.

In the meantime, you can grab the nightly: https://github.com/TWLBot/Builds/releases

Sorry about that!
Thanks a lot for your time and reply!!

—————————————

Moving to another question for everyone , is there any use of the official memory expansion pack for the Nintendo ds lite browser for improve twilight menu? Thanks a lot
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

lifehackerhansol

i write working(?) code
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2021
Messages
179
Trophies
0
XP
304
Country
Canada
Thanks a lot for your time and reply!!

—————————————

Moving to another question for everyone , is there any use of the official memory expansion pack for the Nintendo ds lite browser for improve twilight menu? Thanks a lot
I believe nds-bootstrap attempts to fit games into the memory pak when it's detected. It only really works for the smaller games.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
Thanks a lot for your time and reply!!

—————————————

Moving to another question for everyone , is there any use of the official memory expansion pack for the Nintendo ds lite browser for improve twilight menu? Thanks a lot
TWiLight Menu++ already uses it for showing the 3D cubes on the top screen in the 3DS theme.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

Megasoum

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 18, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
15
Country
Canada
Hi,

So I am using Twilight Menu++ v22.2.0 on my 3DS to play DS games.

I can play all the games just fine except for Chinatown Wars. The same copy of the game was working fine on my DS with a flashcard but when I try to boot it on the 3DS I just get a white screen and I have to quit out of Twilight to continue.

Is there something special that needs to be done for that game specifically?

Thanks!
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,890
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,143
Country
United States
Hi,

So I am using Twilight Menu++ v22.2.0 on my 3DS to play DS games.

I can play all the games just fine except for Chinatown Wars. The same copy of the game was working fine on my DS with a flashcard but when I try to boot it on the 3DS I just get a white screen and I have to quit out of Twilight to continue.

Is there something special that needs to be done for that game specifically?

Thanks!
The game works fine on my side.
If you haven't reached the nds-bootstrap screen, try rebooting. If you have, then you have a corrupt ROM. Try replacing it.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Slim Jim Monster Sonic Chili Cheese Dog Flavor, 1.94 Oz (Pack Of 18) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08MC9KVDG/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_V2DMVRA3YQPJZF2F4Q95
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Slim Jim Monster Sonic Chili Cheese Dog Flavor, 1.94 Oz (Pack Of 18)...