Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

R3YZ

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
15
Country
United States
Hey! Loving the update, although I have installed Twilight Menu on 4 Consoles. 2 being an older version of Twilight Menu and Two the latest. On one of the consoles, (Latest Update) it was working fine with a game, but now it says it is missing DSi binaries (Please install clean... or run in DS mode) , which is interesting as every console (including the other matching console with the latest update) run the game fine.

I am able to run the game in DS Mode. I have tried uninstalling the game, game settings and (patch file?) I'm not so sure it even rechecks the file? Upon reinstllation it hops back up to the top played game position leading me to believe that I am missing areas to completely wipe it?

Also, just want to thank you Robz8 for your work. Extremely appreciated!

UPDATE: Both Recently Updated DSI's now display the same. If settings are switched to run in DS mode from launch, it works no issues. If pressing Y when popped up, blanks screens are presented.

UPDATE 2: Updated one of older DSi's to the latest release of Twilight Menu, and upon launching said game. Now says DSi binary files are missing. Leads to conclusion it's the TM version
 
Last edited by R3YZ,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,843
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,670
Country
Austria
Thank you for the Update(s).:)

Very cool Features (like the "Setup" on the first Startup).:yay:

New3DS XL
On the TWLMenu++ Settings Screen it says v21.0.0 AND v21.0.1.

P1020296.JPG

Thank you.:)
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
Hey! Loving the update, although I have installed Twilight Menu on 4 Consoles. 2 being an older version of Twilight Menu and Two the latest. On one of the consoles, (Latest Update) it was working fine with a game, but now it says it is missing DSi binaries (Please install clean... or run in DS mode) , which is interesting as every console (including the other matching console with the latest update) run the game fine.

I am able to run the game in DS Mode. I have tried uninstalling the game, game settings and (patch file?) I'm not so sure it even rechecks the file? Upon reinstllation it hops back up to the top played game position leading me to believe that I am missing areas to completely wipe it?

Also, just want to thank you Robz8 for your work. Extremely appreciated!

UPDATE: Both Recently Updated DSI's now display the same. If settings are switched to run in DS mode from launch, it works no issues. If pressing Y when popped up, blanks screens are presented.

UPDATE 2: Updated one of older DSi's to the latest release of Twilight Menu, and upon launching said game. Now says DSi binary files are missing. Leads to conclusion it's the TM version
Can you please upload "nds-bootstrap.ini" from "sd:/_nds/", after you pressed Y to skip the message and encountered the issue?
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

palkiake

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
115
Country
Belgium
Any way I can help fix the "the world ends with you" problem? Game is probably the most amazing nds game and it's a shame not being able to properly play it since the music is a big part of it
 

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
433
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
米国
Website
pk11.us
XP
1,986
Country
United States
Anyone knows the difference between nds_bootstrap and his [Nightly] version?
The "nightly" versions are basically beta/preview versions, they're made automatically for every commit made to the repo. They have the latest changes, but aren't guaranteed to be as stable.

Also note that the nightlies included with release builds of TWiLight Menu++ are almost always identical to the release, so you need to update manually for it to be different.
 

Alvaro_130720

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
198
Country
Spain
Hi.
Pokemon Black 2 does not save the game, it stays on the infinite saving screen and never ends. It happens with both DMA and asynch card read enabled and disabled.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
Hi.
Pokemon Black 2 does not save the game, it stays on the infinite saving screen and never ends. It happens with both DMA and asynch card read enabled and disabled.
This has been reported recently, and is a known issue. You'll have to play in DS mode until it gets fixed.
 

Alvaro_130720

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
198
Country
Spain
I just started Pokemon Soulsilver because I was ending the game and I got a screen saying that the corrupted save has been deleted. Is it some Twilight Menu bug? I had a lot of work on my save game ...
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
I just started Pokemon Soulsilver because I was ending the game and I got a screen saying that the corrupted save has been deleted. Is it some Twilight Menu bug? I had a lot of work on my save game ...
Seems that you previously launched it using nds-bootstrap v0.43.0, which had save writing bugged, so that probably corrupted your save.
You can restore it, if you previously backed it up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

Alvaro_130720

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
198
Country
Spain
Hi.
I have been doing some tests with my DSi and my 3DS with the latest version of Twilight Menu and the same configuration on both consoles and the AP Patch in Zelda Spirit Tracks still does not appear in the Train controls, activating the AP patch cheat the Train controls appear.
Pokemon Black freezes when loading the save game and stays with both screens in Black in DSi mode in both cosnolas. In DS mode it loads the game correctly and the AP Patch also seems to work. Pokemon Black 2 seems to work correctly in DSi Mode and AP Patch as well and the games are saved correctly.
Pokemon Soul Silver I have been able to recover my saved game and it already loads and saves the game correctly although it has freeze once, I do not know if the AP patch is applied correctly.
Thanks for fixing the problem with the saved games and I'm sorry if something is misspelled or misunderstood.
 
Last edited by Alvaro_130720,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
Hi.
I have been doing some tests with my DSi and my 3DS with the latest version of Twilight Menu and the same configuration on both consoles and the AP Patch in Zelda Spirit Tracks still does not appear in the Train controls, activating the AP patch cheat the Train controls appear.
Considering the AP-patching code isn't changed, I don't know why this is still the case.
Pokemon Black freezes when loading the save game and stays with both screens in Black in DSi mode in both cosnolas. In DS mode it loads the game correctly and the AP Patch also seems to work. Pokemon Black 2 seems to work correctly in DSi Mode and AP Patch as well and the games are saved correctly.
If you're using an AP-patched ROM, please replace it with a clean ROM. Otherwise, idk why this happens, as it loads fine for me (although I didn't get the C-Gear at that point).

EDIT: Asynch card read is causing the crash. Please turn it off for that game.
Pokemon Soul Silver I have been able to recover my saved game and it already loads and saves the game correctly although it has freeze once, I do not know if the AP patch is applied correctly.
Thanks for fixing the problem with the saved games and I'm sorry if something is misspelled or misunderstood.
The Gen 4 Pokemon games occasionally freeze on DSi due to the RTC glitching sometimes.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,

Alvaro_130720

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
198
Country
Spain
Considering the AP-patching code isn't changed, I don't know why this is still the case.

If you're using an AP-patched ROM, please replace it with a clean ROM. Otherwise, idk why this happens, as it loads fine for me (although I didn't get the C-Gear at that point).

EDIT: Asynch card read is causing the crash. Please turn it off for that game.

The Gen 4 Pokemon games occasionally freeze on DSi due to the RTC glitching sometimes.
The AP patch on Zelda Spirit Tracks previously worked because I had almost completed the game and hadn't had that problem before. I have Rev 1 of the Game. Using cheats to activate the AP patch applies the Patch correctly in case the cheat codes are of any use.
Pokemon Black and Black 2 are from my cartridges but I prefer to use them that way instead of with the cartridge because the cartridges are not in very good condition.
Pokemon Soul silver freezes on my DSi so I will play in 3DS if the RTC fails in DSi.
Thanks for answering
 

PkStarzone

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
327
Country
United States
Was not the M3 GBA expansion compatable with Twilight Menu? I tried to use it on it but Twilight Menu doesnt seems to detect mine. GBA Exploader does works flawlessly with my M3 GBA expansion, it just Twilight Menu that doesnt seems to detect it.
 
Last edited by PkStarzone,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
Was not the M3 GBA expansion compatable with Twilight Menu? I tried to use it on it but Twilight Menu doesnt seems to detect mine. GBA Exploader does works flawlessly with my M3 GBA expansion, it just Twilight Menu that doesnt seems to detect it.
Unfortunately, I don't own an M3 to try to debug the issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

eeveeruleslol

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
82
Country
United States
need help. I got an new3dsxl running Pokémon platinum though twilight menu++, and I got an little bro playing Pokémon pearl though nds forwarder generator. And we trying to trade but when we go into the union room, we don't show up for each other. Wireless communications is on for both of them
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,901
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,166
Country
United States
need help. I got an new3dsxl running Pokémon platinum though twilight menu++, and I got an little bro playing Pokémon pearl though nds forwarder generator. And we trying to trade but when we go into the union room, we don't show up for each other. Wireless communications is on for both of them
Is the forwarder on a 3DS or a DSi?
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/8Bj96q1.mp4