Homebrew [DS(i)/3DS] TWiLight Menu++ - GUI for DS(i) games, and DS(i) Menu replacement

lva789hp

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2016
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
41
Country
It's in the Games/Apps settings page.

That means your GBA flashcard has no RAM to be used as ROM space. What does the flashcard look like?

Same here. All is fine on my side.
Thanks for replying, my cart is the purple supercard, microSD version. It ran fine when I ran it from slot2, passed all the test.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
(Sorry if totally stupid, but...) Is it possible the TWiLight app uses more battery power than normal? I ask because my battery seems to be draining pretty quickly when playing games in it.
The GUI, maybe, but not the games.
nds-bootstrap actually uses less battery power than flashcards.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Thanks for replying, my cart is the purple supercard, microSD version. It ran fine when I ran it from slot2, passed all the test.
I don't own that flashcard (I own the MiniSD version), though I don't see why the RAM wouldn't be detected.
 

Uneo04

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
23
Country
Spain
Pokémon Volt White 2 doesn't work anymore after update Twilight Menu ++. In addition, several games turn down when I use the sleep mode. All of them worked fine before that update.
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
Pokémon Volt White 2 doesn't work anymore after update Twilight Menu ++. In addition, several games turn down when I use the sleep mode. All of them worked fine before that update.
Set the game to run in DS mode, and turn on card read DMA as well.
Also, I don't see why sleep mode would now cause the games to power off, when this got fixed for a while.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aphelios and banjo2

Kuramations

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
162
Country
United States
If the crash isn't random, then try replacing your ROM.
If the issue still occurs, then make sure "Card read DMA" is still turned on, otherwise, you're out of luck for now.
Hey, just wanted to say that I replaced my Spirit Tracks rom, and now it's working great, alongside many other games! Hallelujah!
 

wavemotion

Benign Geek
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
586
Trophies
1
XP
4,000
Country
United States
I would like to take this opportunity to once again express my thanks to @Robz8 and @Pk11 and anyone who has contributed to the TWL++ project!

I will now make a humble request that I'm fine if it gets ignored... if it should ever come to a time when the classic splash screen (showing consoles) is overhauled, try to squeeze an Atari 2600 console in there. Four of the built-in emulators are from Atari and zero love on the splash screen :)

upload_2021-6-7_9-26-20.png
 

Kolopo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 7, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
12
Country
United States
Hi robz I have a problem when play tokemiki memorial 3rd story (English patched version) in twilight menu+++ on my 3ds. It only allow me to play the game around 5-10min after that the game crash everything freeze. Please help me on that.
That's only if you have hiyaCFW.
 

Marksman

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 7, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
17
Country
United States
Set the game to run in DS mode, and turn on card read DMA as well.
Also, I don't see why sleep mode would now cause the games to power off, when this got fixed for a while.

Hello, I'm having trouble with anti piracy with Twilight Menu. I use a new 2ds xl. So you have a list on the sd card of games that are "ap patched" yet when I try to play some they have black screens when I press start on the game. The game loads up but when I press start in the menu of that game it just goes black. I'm assuming this is anti piracy kicking in. Games that do this for me are Lufia ds, Mario & Luigi Bowser's Inside Story and Pokemon Conquest. Am I doing something wrong? Do I have to patch them? What's going on? Yet Spirit Tracks doesn't have anti piracy and I can use the train. Is this a known issue for some games? Do I have to worry about this for the Pokemon and Dragon Quest games. Those are the only ones I actually care about. I've really tried just figuring this out on my own but nothing seems to work and I can't find anything about this topic. The nds bootstrap compatibility list says some games have to be ap patched. I have about 18 games that need ap patch. When I go to the list of "ap patched games" on my sd card all of them are on that list. Yet when I launch some they just have a black screen.

Edit: I went back a couple pages and someone had a similar issue. I turned Card Read DMA on and the games work now! Mannnnn thank you people. I didn't want to play the ugly looking Bowser's Inside Story remake. I was beyond confused and now my issue is fixed. Thanks.
 
Last edited by Marksman,

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
Hi robz I have a problem when play tokemiki memorial 3rd story (English patched version) in twilight menu+++ on my 3ds. It only allow me to play the game around 5-10min after that the game crash everything freeze. Please help me on that.
Try turning on card read DMA.
If that doesn't fix it, you might need to AP-patch the clean ROM, and then patch the AP-patched ROM with the English patch.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2
Updates

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
v20.4.0
EDIT: Hotfix released: v20.4.1

Includes nds-bootstrap v0.42.0

What's new?
  • `Card read DMA` has been reverted to being turned on by default, due to unexpected issues.
    • Additionally, a card read DMA blacklist for certain games has been implemented.
  • The remastered version of the Nintendo DSi Shop music (by BlastoiseVeteran) is now used!
  • Added `Photo/TWLNAND Location` option for DSiWare booted by nds-bootstrap to read said content from either the NAND or SD Card.
  • The Atari 2600 and PC-Engine consoles have been added to the TWLMenu++ splash screen!
  • (@lifehackerhansol) Added Ace3DS+, Gateway Blue, and R4Li-clone autoboot files.
Improvement
  • (@Pk11 and various) Updated translations.
Bug fixes
  • The `Run in` setting is now `DS mode` by default for old DS homebrew.
  • Fixed ROM and settings menu not appearing, if Memory Expansion Pak is inserted.
  • TWLMenu++ now boots from GBA flashcards (such as SuperCard MiniSD) again.
  • Some minor bug fixes to the DS Classic Menu.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,

Uneo04

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
23
Country
Spain
Set the game to run in DS mode, and turn on card read DMA as well.
Also, I don't see why sleep mode would now cause the games to power off, when this got fixed for a while.
Hey! I followed your recomendations and the games works again! About the games which power off during sleep mode, it takes place on "forwarder" mode (game icons in the 3DS main menu), but in Twilight menu program they run perfectly. Thank you!
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
Hey! I followed your recomendations and the games works again! About the games which power off during sleep mode, it takes place on "forwarder" mode (game icons in the 3DS main menu), but in Twilight menu program they run perfectly. Thank you!
Ah, you need to follow Part 1.1 in the forwarder guide again to fix that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

kdpkke

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
Italy
Hi Guys, I have a New 3ds XL and I am using Twilight Menu ++ to run my nintendo DS games (right now I'm playing Ace Attorney serie). I just found my (very old) supercard DSONE (NOT DSONEi) that is fully working on my nintendo DS Lite. Do you know if there is the possibility to use that supercard on my New 3DS XL (maybe using Twilight menu ++)? I'm asking this because I would like to have real time save states option.

Thank you in advance!
 

Affinitious

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
317
Country
Senegal
Hi, i was wondering if you can help me with this weird problem.

Im trying to run Okamiden (U) on my 3ds using the latest twilight menu release. However i encountered a black screen after the 2nd cutscene (with music loop). I tried reinstalling twilightmenu , using nightly build, using different rom, ap patch rom. Still the same.

However i note that the clean rom has no issue on drastic emulator android. Another thing i noticed was i am able to get past the black screen on the older version of twilightmenu (before the switch to universal updater)

Any advice? I'm at my wit's end actually. Thanks in advance.

(UPDATE) Ok Wtf? I just fixed it by changing the settings for Card read DMA to "On".
 
Last edited by Affinitious,
  • Like
Reactions: RocketRobz

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,891
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
17,144
Country
United States
Hi Guys, I have a New 3ds XL and I am using Twilight Menu ++ to run my nintendo DS games (right now I'm playing Ace Attorney serie). I just found my (very old) supercard DSONE (NOT DSONEi) that is fully working on my nintendo DS Lite. Do you know if there is the possibility to use that supercard on my New 3DS XL (maybe using Twilight menu ++)? I'm asking this because I would like to have real time save states option.

Thank you in advance!
TWiLight Menu++ itself should be able to launch that flashcard.
If not, then please show what's the title ID of that flashcard, using GodMode9.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: lol