1. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    She said she would've adored seeing this run on the Switch, so that means it's not on the Switch at all.
     
    banjo2 and alexander1970 like this.
  2. Pk11

    Pk11 A cat girl with a DSi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    TWiLight uses the DS's font format, NFTR, not the 3DS's BCFNT so it can't use those directly, I can grab the character sets from those and add all the characters they use though, thanks for letting me know about them.

    Oh yeah, sorry forgot to mention it, when running in DS mode it still uses the same limited font as before since RAM is pretty limited, it only uses the more complete fonts when running in DSi Mode.




    Edit:
    I've just made a new PR, #1294, that adds I think everything from all of SharedFontTool's bcfnts to the DSi Mode fonts and also adds special DS Mode fonts for Chinese (Simplified) and Korean that should be much more complete, at the cost of missing characters in other scripts.

    The Chinese font also uses Noto Sans CS as the primary font instead of nintendo_NTLG-DB_001 so it has the Chinese forms of characters instead of the Japanese ones.

    If you've got a good list for Chinese (Traditional) that's under around 7,000 chars total I can add that too, but SharedFontTool's traditional font has like 15,000 chars which is too much for DS mode. You can use the Simplified font in DSi Mode though to get the Chinese forms of characters instead of the Japanese ones, though it might also have simplified forms instead of traditional for some, I'm not sure how much overlap there is.

    (To try it you can download it from the "Checks" tab on the pull request in a few mins once it's done or it'll probably be merged within a few hours then just get the nightly)
     
    Last edited by Pk11, Jan 6, 2021 - Reason: Fix typo, why do I mess up "be" and "me" so much...
  3. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,076
    Country:
    United States
    which one you using? standalone or retroarch? Standalone works better than retroarch
     
  4. HinaNaru Cutie

    HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    I am using standalone ;-; the latest update...if you want like an example of how I put the files in I can show you?
     
  5. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Country:
    Laos
    hi Robz i followed the steps but the file .prv is missing.

    also can 3ds run dsiware via twilightmenu ?
     
    Last edited by satel, Jan 6, 2021
  6. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    It's either .pub or .prv, depending on the DSiWare.
    The only ones that boot atm, are Pop Island and Pop Island: Paperfield, and that's because they can boot in DS mode as demo versions.
    Aside from those two, still no.
     
    alexander1970 and satel like this.
  7. sk22

    sk22 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Austria
    Hi! So I was trying to find the required "pictochat.nds" but couldn't find it anywhere. Someone, somewhere said that one can download it using NUS Downloader - which doesn't work anymore, tho. I only was able to find the CIA versions.
    However, I found a full NUS Downloader DSiWare dump on archive.org. It does also include Pictochat and the DS Download Play DSiWare titles!
    For maximum convenience (and knowing that searching the web for even the title IDs didn't really get me anywhere), I decided to upload them to archive.org myself. Just search for Pictochat or DSi System Apps, and from there you can download "pictochat.nds" (and "dlplay.nds").

    Edit: Removed the links
     
    Last edited by sk22, Jan 7, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. sion_zaphod

    sion_zaphod Ex-Galactic President; confidence trickster; etc
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    I don't think you are allowed to post links to that here. Both files have signed Nintendo code in them.
     
    sk22, banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  9. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Country:
    Laos
    @Robz8

    i have issue with dsi hiyacfw where unlaunch will not display anything apart from system files,also when i boot hiyacfw through TWLMenu which i access via the camera app i get white screens, i already formatted the sd card twice & followed the online guide but not sure why it's not working ! any idea what might be wrong ?
     
  10. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    What tool(s) did you use to format the SD card?
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  11. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Country:
    Laos
    windows own tool
     
  12. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    Try SDFormatter.
     
    alexander1970, satel and banjo2 like this.
  13. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Country:
    Laos
    worked,i wish i asked you before i wasted 2+ hours . thanks very much :)
     
    alexander1970, banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  14. markpeng0315

    markpeng0315 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    China

    Grate thanks for you. and sorry for i don't know the nds front filetype
     
    alexander1970, Pk11 and banjo2 like this.
  15. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,076
    Country:
    United States
    No I'm all set here
     
  16. cyttorak

    cyttorak Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Spain
    How can I run ScummVM in a Nintendo DSi with Twilight Menu ++?
    Every *.nds from scummvm-1.2.1-ds.zip give me a error related with something called DLDI drivers
     
  17. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    Then it's not compatible.
     
  18. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    v18.2.0

    Check here on how to update TWiLight Menu++:
    What's new?
    • The Atari emulators have been updated to their latest versions!
    • (@Pk11) You can now select a custom font. See here on how to add one.
    Improvements
    • (@Pk11 and various) Updated translations.
    • (@Pk11) More font data is now loaded, if running in DSi mode.
    • (@Pk11) DSi, 3DS, Saturn, and HBL themes: Selected item in the cheat list can now scroll.
    Bug fixes
    • Native GBA ROM loader (DS Phat/lite):
      • Mario Kart: Super Circuit, Doom, and Doom II now boot!
      • The GBA GamePak Prefetch feature is now enabled before the game boots!
        This fixes some slowdown in some games, which don't occur in retail carts.
        NOTE: Games already use this feature, but as the wait states are patched out in order for the games to boot, games would previously be unable to enable the feature.
    • Fixed 3D cubes not being rendered in the 3DS theme, if photo/boxart color de-banding is turned on.
      • This skips photo/boxart color de-banding, if the 3D cube video is found.
    • (@Pk11) Changed `Greyscale` to `Grayscale`.
    • (@Pk11) Fixed non-ASCII DSiWare path being passed to Unlaunch.
    • Fixed cluster size warning being shown if cluster size is above 32KB.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Jan 9, 2021
  19. satel

    satel Luigi's Big Brother
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,154
    Country:
    Laos
    @Robz8
    Hi, is there Soft Reset on DSi console ? thanks
     
  20. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,089
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. The button combo is the same as in DS games.
     
    alexander1970, satel and banjo2 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - replacement, TWiLight, [DS(i)