1. BlueTrainer12

    BlueTrainer12 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Oh ok, just needed to hear that
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  2. wanderindirk

    wanderindirk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Vietnam
    The new way TwlMenu++ handles widescreen (introduced in the first Labor Day release) in effect breaks widescreen for me :( in the pre-Labor Day version, after the patch is applied only widescreen-compatible games would go widescreen and incompatible games would remain 4:3, which is the way I prefer it to be. Is there a way to keep things this way in the new version?
     
  3. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,139
    Country:
    United States
    there's a widescreen option in the settings menu. I think you press select to go into screen where you can go into options. it's set to 16x10 by default I believe.
     
  4. wanderindirk

    wanderindirk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Vietnam
    It goes like this: after I booted a widescreen game, 4:3 games will forever be stretched to widescreen regardless of whether the actual setting (in the universal or per-game option) is 16:10 or 4:3.
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,139
    Country:
    United States
    I only tested one or two games to make sure the new update was working. I know dragon quest ix was in widescreen. a much earlier build had it in normal aspect ratio, so I don't know if widescreen has been added for that game. I know where to check though, just lazy atm. ;)
     
  6. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,552
    Country:
    United States
    Games that only work in 4:3 are now stretched, so it won't be proper widescreen.
     
    godreborn, alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  7. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,139
    Country:
    United States
    well, dragon quest ix, if not proper widescreen, looked perfectly fine for me. no complaints here. my only issue with the latest version was that ripple effect with gba runner. I think you replied to that posting by someone else and said it was due to the fps coding. that's the only problem I encountered with the latest version.
     
    Robz8 likes this.
  8. MrLuigix64

    MrLuigix64 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Mexico
    Does the new update change the widescreen? Just update it today and rhe widescreen Broke.

    Games only run on 4:3 and the upper screen on the main menu of TWL is half size of 4:3. What happen?

    Updated via TWLightmenu++ Updater
     
  9. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,552
    Country:
    United States
    Re-do the widescreen steps.
    The 4:3 games now run stretched with distortion, which is not intended, but currently can't be fixed.
     
    alexander1970, MrLuigix64 and banjo2 like this.
  10. godreborn

    godreborn Retired
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12,139
    Country:
    United States
    I updated via updater, and I didn't encounter this issue. maybe update the updater. that's what I did first. there's a built in update thing for the updater. can't recall if I had to use fbi with it.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  11. WaterManny1

    WaterManny1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    So is the nds compatibility list updated? or is this the latest version? Also i think this is missing Legacy of Ys: Books I & II (works fine from what i see but i haven't played through all of it, only the beginning portions).

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1LRTkXOUXraTMjg1eedz_f7b5jiuyMv2x6e_jY_nyHSc/edit#gid=0

    oh and how do you get an ap patch? and what is an ntr cpu? i tried radiant historia on my dsi (not 3ds though) through twilightmenu and it crashed my console completely when i tried to load it.

    EDIT: one more question: This list has a section called game console that says either 3ds or DSi but it doesn't seem to be accurate? For instance Dragon Quest V seems to work fine on the DSi but the doc says game console: 3ds. What does this mean?
     
    Last edited by WaterManny1, Sep 23, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,552
    Country:
    United States

    Most games on this list will work on the latest version.
    AP patches patch out anti-piracy measures from games. The patches are bundled with TWiLight Menu++, and are already used by nds-bootstrap.
    What exactly happened when you tried to launch it?
    It means it's only been tested there.
     
    alexander1970 and banjo2 like this.
  13. WaterManny1

    WaterManny1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. I'll give more games a try then.

    Basically what happened was i loaded the game, it created the save file and the nds bootstrap loaded the game, i got to the game and it froze as soon as the game started up. So i turned off the console and turned it back on after a few seconds, the screen was still frozen white and it took a while for it to turn back off. Not sure why. This only happened with this game, too. This was on dsi through twilightmenu ++ , not 3ds.
     
    Last edited by WaterManny1, Sep 23, 2020
  14. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,552
    Country:
    United States
    To use NTR clock speed for that game, press Y in TWLMenu++, then set ARM9 CPU Speed to NTR.
     
    alexander1970, WaterManny1 and banjo2 like this.
  15. MDashK

    MDashK GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Any news regarding a fix for the pokemon games random freeze issue? I just started playing Soul Silver, tried with both a clean ROM and an AP Patched ROM and have experienced random freezes, can't really pinpoint where the issue might be...
     
  16. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,552
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing has been done yet.
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  17. BlueTrainer12

    BlueTrainer12 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Take your time :)
     
    banjo2 and Robz8 like this.
  18. replicashooter

    replicashooter GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,017
    Country:
    Anyone had any issues using a 128GB card?
     
  19. Pk11

    Pk11 A cat girl with a DSi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using a 128GB card for a few months on DSi and have had no problems, even with FAT Table Cache on, however some people have reported corruption using cards 64GB and up unless FAT Table Cache is off on 3DS (and maybe DSi?)
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  20. raphamotta

    raphamotta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    Agreed, IMHO it's a regression, I'll stay in previous versions (I'm not saying it's bad, this project is awesome, and I'm happy the way wide-screen worked)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - replacement, TWiLight, [DS(i)