1. NANASHI89

    NANASHI89 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,269
    Country:
    United States
    Can you even use DSiWare as NDS files on 3DS? Or is that exclusively for DSi?

    Sent from my SM-T280 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, you can't. You'll need to convert them to CIAs.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Exclusively for DSi, because of Unlaunch (which runs the DSiWare .nds files) being exclusive to DSi consoles.
     
  3. CursedToast

    CursedToast Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome project.
    Is there any way around re-loading the rom when you soft reset? Trying to get started soft-resetting in Pokemon Heartgold for a shiny starter (until my legit copy shows up) and the extra load time is making it meh. I understand if there's no way around it for technical reasons, just figured I'd ask if there was anything I was missing with the settings or these particular titles. Thank you again for your work on this!
     
  4. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Pokémon games have a hard-coded soft reset feature that shouldn't reload the ROM. Try L+R+Start+Select to do an in-game reset.
    Apologies if this is already what you're doing, I just didn't think that made the rom reload.
     
    Last edited by Sophie-bear, Apr 16, 2019
  5. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    In nds-bootstrap, that reloads the ROM.
     
    Sophie-bear likes this.
  6. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Ye, you caught me as I was editing my reply. You think there's a way nds-bootstrap can handle this better in the future?
     
  7. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    ahezard has been working on it a bit. Nothing so far.
     
  8. CursedToast

    CursedToast Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    No worries! Will look forward to a potential update that supports remapping (or disabling that reset method) in the future. Thanks for the replies to both of you :)
     
  9. Brianaoc60

    Brianaoc60 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hi, I love this DS emulator, but when I want to play mario kart or other games in multiplayer, it does not let me (I can only play multiplayer Bomberman and Kirby Super Star Saga) so why is this problem?
    Sorry I am noob
     
  10. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    If you're trying to use Download Play, cloneboot doesn't work, which is why the other console crashes on the Nintendo logo.
     
    Brianaoc60 likes this.
  11. Brianaoc60

    Brianaoc60 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Venezuela
    If that's exactly what happens, but is that for example I play the bomberman in Download Play and I'm doing fine, I guess it's a mistake that only happens in some games
     
  12. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    I read in the ndsbootstrap changelog that some minimal dma read implementation was done for the release.
    Exactly which DMA games work now with this release?
     
  13. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Some games such as GTA:CW load faster, with mostly no lags.
     
  14. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,170
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ah I see.
    So games that didn't boot before due to dma like Golden Sun would still don't run, right?
    At least for now :P
     
  15. alexander1970

    alexander1970 History repeats itself...
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    11,007
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello.:)

    Works at the moment without issues on DSi and DSi XL.

    Loading times in very few cases are again MUCH faster.
    - the DSi Theme loads/reacts/behave MUCH faster and quicker.:yay:
    - Super Nintendo Emulator
    - Sega Mega Drive Emulator
    - from DSi Health Screen to classic DS Menu.
    - a lot of DS games (for example Mario Kart DS,there is not much left to an Flashcart:yay:).

    I did not believed loading times are getting much faster,but this release has disabused me.:bow:
    Also no more random Red Guru Mediaton Screens (they where already VERY rare with last update) at the moment.
    Very,very stable (but also the LAST release).

    Perfect update,really great job again,people.

    Thank you.:)
     
    Robz8, Tarmfot and w0nd3rb0yfx like this.
  16. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Israel
    The people working behind nds-bootstrap and TWiLight Menu++ are amazing. I have never seen projects like this, you're making constant releases, hotfixes and updates, all for no profit.
    100 Releases for TWiLight Menu++, that is just amazing, and 60 for nds-bootstrap if i'm not wrong. The effort put in on both of these projects is huge.
    Thanks for the new releases, and for the updater.
     
  17. stanleyopar2000

    stanleyopar2000 Dirty Weeb ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,164
    Country:
    United States
    Suggestion: can we change the grid of the 3DS games to display more on one screen? It's the only thing keeping me on AK theme
     
  18. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,651
    Country:
    United States
    Updater v3.1.1

    Because TWiLight Menu++'s repo moved from "RocketRobz" to the "DS-Homebrew" organization, v3.1.0 of the updater is unable to download the release.
    v3.1.1 fixes the bug, so that it downloads from "DS-Homebrew" instead of "RocketRobz".
     
    Sunuku likes this.
  19. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if it's just me, but I wasn't able to launch 8.0.0 until deleting my old Settings.ini. Dunno what caused this, but that's what fixed it. It'd stick on a white screen previously.
     
  20. alexk2019

    alexk2019 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So I am running on a New 2DS xl, on the latest TWiLight Menu++ and nds-bootstrap. (v8.0.0, v0.18.0.).
    (Also latest B9S and Luma3DS, I hacked three days ago)

    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team works.
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness works.
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time works.
    But Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky hangs on a white screen after the loading screen.

    This seems strange since the games are so similar, and since Sky is marked as working in the compatibility spreadsheet.

    I've already tried 2 different dumps of the game, both of which work fine in an emulator.

    What are your guy's experiences with this rom? Is this just me or is this a bug in TWiLightMenu or nds-bootstrap? Or is there some Anti-piracy detection in Sky?

    Kinda bummed since Sky is my favorite game.

    Thanks - alexk
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - replacement, TWiLight, [DS(i)