DS goes wild when watching movie

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Koekje, Jul 8, 2008.

Jul 8, 2008
  1. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi guys,

    I just downloaded Moonshell 1.7 final, putted it on my DSTT, also putted a movie on it, and then i wanted to watch it.
    No problems, in most cases. However, in this case when i open the movie (And now even when i start Moonshell) both screens goes black, backlight goes off, and the powerlight goes flashing, like it's in standby. What is this kind of problem?
     


  2. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    That's really strange, I don't have any problems with MoonShell and my DSTT. Can't help ya.

    Seconds thought: if you enabled the resume function in the binary creating program, try disabling that.
     
  3. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Now it's even more funny, my DS locks up when it booted Moonshell, it only shows an empty upper screen, the 2 infoboxes at the lower screen and nothing else....
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried to download and install the moonshell that is on the ndstt.com website? It's already configured for the DSTT.

    -Bri
     
  5. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I remember seeing that too, I didn't think there was anything special about it though
     
  6. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, i tried that one too, it locks also up at the booting and/or the black screens and the flashing light.
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    There's really not anything special, but it's already set up so that it should run as-is. It sounds like Koekje has some of his options set incorrectly when he creates the binary, so using the pre-built one should take care of that.

    -Bri
     
  8. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I tried both the premaded and the setup versions, both have the same trouble.
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean by "No problems, in most cases." Is the problem with a particular movie or with all movies?

    -Bri
     
  10. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    First it was with everything, now i can't even start a movie because it locks up after the loading screen.
     
  11. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    You should back up your card, format it, then try it again.
     
  12. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like your microSD card might be corrupt. Have you tried reformatting it?

    ETA: Sephiroth beat me to it.

    -Bri
     
  13. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ouch, just done so... twice..... and all other stuff (Games, homebrew etc) is running like a charm, it's just Moonshell.. [​IMG]
     
  14. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay, formatted it, putted all stuff back, Moonshell boots fine, i start movie, both screens goes flashing like the powerlight did before, black-on-black-on-black-on.... [​IMG]
     
  15. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    That's strange, guess there's no way to fix this problem.

    Did you change the moonshell folder already? since that's were all the settings are saved
     
  16. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Jep, did so. Deleted it, putted version 1.6 on it, same problem...
     
  17. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe a specific video is causing the problem?
     
  18. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can open it fine at the computer with DPG-Show, i were also looking at DSvideo, that program looks nice towards me, but i have trouble finding the converter that works which converts my movies into the correct format...
     
  19. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    BatchDPG always makes perfect encodes for me.
     
  20. Koekje
    OP

    Member Koekje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    In CookieHeaven!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I meant for DSvideo. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page