DS FTP 2.4 released

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by FAST6191, Jan 8, 2007.

Jan 8, 2007

DS FTP 2.4 released by FAST6191 at 12:27 AM (6,819 Views / 0 Likes) 52 replies

  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom


  2. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Used it. Everything worked after the patch. This is pretty god damned cool, let me tell you. Now I don't have to worry about my Micro SD Card wearing out the spring loading in the r4. Rad.
     
  3. Joe91

    Newcomer Joe91 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried it with the R4 after patching with DLDI Tool.
    It loads then says "Searching for access point", then nothing else.
     
  4. dodly

    Newcomer dodly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    Awesome, now we can upload Roms to our DS without taking our MicroSD cards out all the time thus wearing then out of wrecking your m3/r4

    I'm reading up on the site but still have no idea how to setup this sucker... anyone wanna post some step by step instructions?
     
  5. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use a game such as Metroid Prime Hunters to set up an access point? If so, can you connect through that game just fine?
     
  6. Sigma83

    Newcomer Sigma83 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    I used mario kart to setup the connect point. Then patched the .NDS file with DLDI. Threw on only the .NDS file. Downloaded CuteFTP for my computer. Started up my DS, started up DSFTP, it creates a default user and password and lists the IP at the bottom of the screen. Open cuteftp, connect to that IP, enter the default username and password, and you're done!

    works incredibly well, unbelievable job.
     
  7. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Same here.

    I haven't been able to figure out how to make my own name and password though. It'd be easier to connect if the password wasn't randomly generated each time I connected.

    Anyone feel like helping me out with that one?
     
  8. richardv

    Member richardv GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    try putting ftp.conf in /data/settings and edit appropriately
     
  9. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe I'm just retarded, but I can not find that file to edit. I have a dsftp/arm9/data folder, but it doesn't have a settings folder in it.
     
  10. Sigma83

    Newcomer Sigma83 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    You create the conf file using his template off his website. Just create a txt file, change it to a conf file, and paste his stuff in there. Remove line 2, gave me some problems.
     
  11. dodly

    Newcomer dodly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Australia
    So to get a Basic FTP server up on the DS all i need to do is copy the DSFTP.nds file onto my MicroSD card then run it?

    it will tell me the username and pass and IP to connect to?
     
  12. Joe91

    Newcomer Joe91 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried it with the R4 after patching with DLDI Tool.

    I have added a ftp.conf file in data/settings dir.

    I have set up my WiFi connection, with Mario Carts and it works with WiFi, Auto and Manual Settings.
    DSorganise can connect to the web and download homebrew.

    DSFtp loads then says "Searching for access point", then nothing else.
     
  13. bennyboo

    Newcomer bennyboo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the 'Cannot connect to access point' to. I enabled broadcast SSID on my access point and now it connects ok.

    Still can't get it working thought. Won't connect from PC using the IP address given - can't ping it either.

    Also, I'm getting 'config file not found' message. Even though I've created one. Can I check that it's in the right place?

    - I'm running dsftp nds file from root on my card ,so I created a dir called data, then a dir inside data called settings then the conf file in there - right?

    - tried a few places but it still can't find it.

    running on a m3 CF - used DLDI to patch executable beforehand too.

    cheers,

    Ben
     
  14. Joe91

    Newcomer Joe91 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am using a DGL-4300 router 128bit encryption, Metroid Prime Hunter and Mario works ok.

    My Nintedno WiFi picks up my router and someone elses linksys router with no WEP.

    I have tried both with the above SSID Broadcast visible(ON) and through the open router as a test.

    If SSID was not enabled then these routers would not show up in "search for access point" on the WiFI connection setup.

    With both routers DSFtp loads then says "Searching for access point", then nothing else.

    Using :
    R4 with DSFtp in root dir, DSFtp patch with DLDI, with and without a ftp.conf file.

    Does anyone have any ideas?


    bennyboo: I read somewhere that if you connect to the external ip of the router and set a virtual server on port 21 to the ip of the DS, it may work.
     
  15. serginsurge

    Newcomer serginsurge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    goias, brasil
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone post this patched because the dldi tool isnt working the black screen comes up and then goes away.
     
  16. danielmakana

    Newcomer danielmakana Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    thats because you have to run it in dos or command prompt
     
  17. bennyboo

    Newcomer bennyboo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey Joe,

    I'll try going out of my router and back in again with port forwarding.. - it's worth a try I suppose!

    With the SSID thing - I had it disabled i.e. no broadcast on my router and yes, you're right it wouldn't have shown up when searched for using WiFi setup but it does work if you manualy configure it using WiFi setup - i.e. you know than name of the SSID. - this is how I've had it setup for ages and WFC works fine.. - played loads of Mariokart etc... However, when I enabled the broadcast of SSID on my access point DSFtp got past the "Searching for access point", bit. There's probably more than one problem here..... oh well..

    cheers!

    Ben

     
  18. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    EDITED: Problem solved.

    I'm testing to see whether my patched file works.
     
  19. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Got it working, although it still says "syntax error in line 1." Thanks man.
     
  20. Sigma83

    Newcomer Sigma83 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    No prob, glad you got it working. There are some limitations of it obviously though (partially due to the slow wifi connection). I was transfering 250 megs of DPG movies to my supercard, and it took over 2 hours, and when it finished, the video was scrammbled. I tend to lose my connection once in a while so perhaps it couldn't account for that correctly. Other than that, it's ideal for smaller quicker transfers.

    Awesome homebrew.
     

Share This Page