ds freezing with a "popping sound"

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by jiyabil, May 27, 2010.

May 27, 2010
  1. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    hi. i have a fat ds. when i play any game the ds makes this popping sound, like when u press the off switch, then just freezes. this happens sometimes but it can get really annoying. can anyone help me? im using an r4 card
     
  2. Overman1977

    Member Overman1977 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Canada
    Does it make that sound when using a regular game cart as well?
     
  3. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    havent tried. tell u what happens. thank you.
    but what if it still does with a regular game cart?
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    haha i know that sound

    it always does it

    its just when then speakers power on

    nothing to worry about

    its always after the Game has loaded


    haha i just read what u said

    what R4 do you have
     
  5. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dunno. im a real NOOB at this. i guess mine is similar to the one you have in your signature
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    unlikely to be mine as mine is the origional which is very hard to get hold of

    what box did ures come in

    find a picture on google
     
  7. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    this is like about 3 years old already. and i can see that it looks exactly just like yours.
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    well there is about 7 different clones that look the same

    what firmware are u running on it?
     
  9. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    i see in the lower left hand corner that it says v1.18. i guess maybe you're right about this being a clone
     
  10. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
  11. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    thank you very much. is there anything else i have to do after placing it in the root of my ds. i was more of a psp guy but im playing ds now coz of the many wonderful games
     
  12. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    should be ok

    if you have done it correctly u should have a nice new menu
     
  13. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    whoa wait. i got the new menu and stuff but my saves are gone. i put my old ds_menu.dat file and got it again but back to old menu. is there a way to keep my save files and have the new firmware?
     
  14. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    no problem

    loads more games will work for you now without patching

    here a compatibility list

    http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/R4_compatibility_list

    Green = Working No problems
    Blue = Working but with problems
    Red = not working

    on the right hand side you will also see notes about the game and if it working

    Pokemon wont need patching now [​IMG]
     
  15. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    is there a way to keep the save files from when i was using the old firmware?
     
  16. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    notice the difference?
     
  17. jiyabil
    OP

    Newcomer jiyabil Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Philippines
    ok again. thank you very much for your help. i was able to do what i wanted with your help.
     
  18. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Thats ok

    Enjoy your gaming [​IMG]
     

Share This Page