DS freezes 95% of the time on startup with AKRPG

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by duelle, Aug 20, 2008.

Aug 20, 2008
  1. duelle
    OP

    Newcomer duelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    95% of the time my DS will freeze on boot at the health and safety screen when I have my new Acekard RPG in it. It seems to me that the metal casing for the microSD is sticking out a little bit and might be throwing the contacts off. I don't think there's anything wrong with the card itself since I can transfer files and the UI works fine (when I can get to it), but games freeze when I try to play them. Metal Slug 7, for example, freezes after taking several steps forward on level 1. Has anyone else had a similar problem and fixed it or should I start looking for a new card?
     
  2. Licardo7

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    how long did you have it and where did you order your RPG. It's because some places replace them if they are malfunctioning.

    edit: sorry
     
  3. thk

    Newcomer thk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Ajax, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm reading AKRPG...

    The card may be defective. Is it occurring only with microSDs or with the NAND too ?
     
  4. duelle
    OP

    Newcomer duelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    It's definitely an AKRPG and I don't have a microSD. I don't think it's the memory though: the DS boot screen itself freezes (before the Nintendo logo on the top even comes completely into view). Also, it's less than a day old in terms of use and I got it from BambooGaming.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Didja try formatting your NAND to fat16?
     
  6. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it's trying to tell you it has a cold.
     
  7. duelle
    OP

    Newcomer duelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I formatted the NAND and no change.

    Unfortunately, I don't think so.
     
  8. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Try asking for a replacement from the place you bought it from.
     
  9. leetcakes

    Member leetcakes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Belize
    meh, akrpg is flimsy, unavoidable due to the many things extra they squeezed in there, compared to other carts. mine is gettin freezey too, not 95%, but around 50%
     
  10. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    Try formatting with the Panasonic SDFormatter.

    Mine never froze.
     
  11. duelle
    OP

    Newcomer duelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Once again, I don't have a microSD, I'm just using NAND. I'll see if I can get it replaced, I guess. The site says there's a six month warranty for everything sold so I should be taken care of. Are many AKRPG's like this or is it a minority?
     
  12. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    I think it is a minority.

    I formatted the NAND using Panasonic SDFormatter.
     
  13. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try putting a little bit of paper behind it when you put it in your DS.

    It sounds as though there is a dodgy connection with the contacts [​IMG]
     
  14. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yes, as Joey90 stated the RPG does suffer from bad contacts as I must admit mine doesnt get recognized sometimes but usually its as easy and taking the card out and putting it back in so it doesnt worry me too much.
     
  15. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    a problem that happens alot, especially if you use your kits often. when doing the nesds compatibility list i was taking my r4 in and out of my ds around 30 times a day for over 4 months. i had all types of connection issues, including freezing on the health and safty screen. i would tend to think the issue is a contact issue and not a faulty rpg. you won't know until you debug it alittle. did you try blowing out the slot with compressed air? did you try padding the rpg with paper?

    -another world
     

Share This Page