DS Doom 1.0.0 released

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by legendofphil, Aug 8, 2006.

Aug 8, 2006

DS Doom 1.0.0 released by legendofphil at 9:50 PM (8,257 Views / 0 Likes) 69 replies

  1. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Home page : http://dsdoom.devkitpro.org/

    This version supports wifi play.
    It doesn't support the touch screen but it is planned.
    It will only work on M3, supercard and similar devices, G6 is not supported.

    A doom WAD file is required but the shareware version is freely availble online.

    As I found out all files must be in the root of the flash card for it to work.
     


  2. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty cool
    Although I haven't tested it out yet... =P
     
  3. Zantagor

    Member Zantagor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Canada
    I hope that eventually it will be able play from a subfolder, I don't like swamping my root if possible [​IMG]


    But besides that, it works pretty nicely.


    Well, except that it doesn't seem to be able to load a saved game, just freezes when doing so.
     
  4. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, Wifi support? How does it work?
     
  5. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  6. Goldsun1715

    Newcomer Goldsun1715 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Can you use custom wads? Like coopbuildlm.wad?
     
  7. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Providing they have all the assets in them I don't see why not.
     
  8. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    When I try loading up DoomDS.nds, I get a message on the bottom screen that says "Survived graphics init" but locks up after that. I have everything that was in DoomDS and the Doom1.wad in there. Do I need to put anything else in there?

    *I have a M3 MiniSD if it matters.
     
  9. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    I was just testing this out earlier this morning and I'm very impressed. I'm always amazed by people that port things. [​IMG]
     
  10. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gaisuto, is it called doom.wad because it only supports one file name, but it doesn't matter whats in that wad file, doom II wad files even work.
     
  11. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I did rename it to doom.wad and it's still locking up on that message. Out of desperation I even put the entire C:DOOMS folder into the card and it still locks at the message.

    I can't even get Homebrew to work, I'm an idiot with this stuff [​IMG]
     
  12. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what file system do you use, FAT or FAT32?
     
  13. tomdarth5

    Newcomer tomdarth5 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All u need on the "root" of your cf/sd are dsdoom.nds , PRBOOM.CFG , prboom.wad and ure own wad which should be named "doom.wad" (all lower case no matter which game wad is from)

    I have now tried both doom 1 and 2 and both work great!

    Peace

    Dont put this stuff in folders and it should work fine

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  15. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea. [​IMG]
     
  16. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    This is pretty stupid when people put stuff like that out that doesn't even work, and why isn't there any decent instructions included? I add exactly what the file said to, and all i get is a white screen to look at. [​IMG]
     
  17. dudereno

    Member dudereno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    It works great on the SC SD. Even the multiplayer works.
    Runs at a silky smooth framerate considering the cpu horsepower of the DS. This is an uber port, the dewds involved should be congratulated.
     
  18. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    yeah strange how some people say it works, but i don't see it doing so.
     
  19. legendofphil
    OP

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What flash cart are you using?
     
  20. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    That is an entirely new Doom game being made for the DS, this one's a port.
     

Share This Page