ds card that can play gba games yet?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by airdish, Mar 4, 2007.

Mar 4, 2007
  1. airdish
    OP

    Newcomer airdish Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Its been awhile since I looked around, but are there any flash cards in the DS format that can also run GBA games too?
     
  2. Mchart

    Member Mchart GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    There is none and never will be any Slot-1 only solution that can play GBA games. There is no way to "Reverse Passme". On top of that, the other major issue is that GBA games require /very/ low latency. The Slot-1 on the DS is not capable of the same low latency connection that the GBA slot is capable of.

    It will never happen. Thats why if you are just entering the GBA/DS homebrew scene you should purchase a slot-2 solution, if you want to use GBA content.
     
  3. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    That's why nintendo don't make slot 1 gba games i guess.
     
  4. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That doesn't make sense, Nintendo doesn't make big-sized-dvd Gamecube games either, just cause they don't fit in a gamecube... Tried sticking a DS cartridge in you GBA (Micro) yet?
     
  5. Golin

    Member Golin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I think he was joking.
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The GBA games maybe able to be patched to play on the slot 1. Last I heard the M3 team were working on it, not heard anything since.
     
  7. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Naw, only using a Slot2 RAM pack. No other way.
     
  8. airdish
    OP

    Newcomer airdish Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    So which is the best slot 2 card out there right now? The reason I wanted to go with slot 1 is the reviews make it seem soo easy to load files and play. But I was worried that a slot 2 card would not be as easy, like the whole pass through thing I don't fully understand.
     
  9. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    If you want a slot 2 card to play GBA games occasionally get the EZ flash V slot 1 card with the "3 in 1 expansion pack". You can have a GBA rom on that pack and play it. It's not quite as convenient as something else, but in the end you'll get better compatibility than any other option at the same price.

    The other option is to get a slot 1 device like the R4 and get a cheap slot 2 device like the EZ Flash IV (deluxe?) for GBA games. The R4 can function as a passme if you need it, but you probably won't.
     
  10. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,460
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    The EZF5 + 3-in-1 combo can run Opera, while the EZF4 + anything else can't. Plus, it's cheap. I have an EZF4, and I'm looking at the EZF5 combo. And looking. And looking.
     

Share This Page