drive max pro, how well does it work?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by superbo3, Jul 26, 2006.

Jul 26, 2006
  1. superbo3
    OP

    Member superbo3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Denmark
    hi i was thinking of getting a drive max pro to play "homebrew" games on my gc ,

    seems easy to use , i was just wondering how well it works?

    i hear the modchips have a pretty high error %

    how well does it play the burned games? [​IMG]

    hoping someone who has one can answer me [​IMG]
     
  2. mcsquared

    Member mcsquared GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    never had any probs, mine works great
     
  3. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    I do not know if we are supposed to talk here but anyways here's my setup:

    Max Drive Pro
    Traxdata 8cm DVD-R
    CloneCD @ x2

    so far i have burnt 2 games using above settings no DRE whatever and i must tell you that i did get occasion DRE when burnt on @ x4 using the same set-up so i would recommend x2.

    Everythings working smoothly here [​IMG]
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a similar setup with the Action Replay, it worked fine, but you may need to tweak your laser cause it might not read DVD-R's well.

    EDIT: If all you want is to use homebrew DOL files it is the best way IMO.
     
  5. HugeCock

    Member HugeCock Oh My....

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United States
    ?? Where did you hear that? My Qoob has 72 burnt games that all run perfect.
     
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the max drive pro you may need to still adjust the gamecube laser to read backups. I've had 3 gamecubes and all of them have needed the laser adjusting so backups work.
     
  7. mcsquared

    Member mcsquared GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mine is great, got a XenoGC sat here and I cant be arsed installing it becauuse the MDP works well enough for me. I use Datawrite Titanium full size 8x and burn them in my Pioneer 109at 12x. Not had 1 bad game yet, not adjusted the laser and I play with the top off because im too mean to buy a replacement lid, if it breaks i'll just buy another from Gamestation for ~£20
     
  8. VascoAlmeida

    Member VascoAlmeida Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Portugal
    Does Dvd+R work ? please awnser that...
     
  9. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    As far as i know, you need to have your POT set to around 50 which is a risky business to have any chance of DVD+R working [​IMG]
     
  10. VascoAlmeida

    Member VascoAlmeida Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Portugal
    cause i have a ViperGc on my second gamecube and it reads Dvd+R sooooooooooo well, i never had an error, or a DRE...
     

Share This Page