[Dreamcast] - Possible to play online still?

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Devante, Aug 16, 2011.

Aug 16, 2011
  1. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Is there some way to play online? Something like XLink Kai perhaps?
     
  2. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i'm not certain but i believe Phantasy Star Online still has private servers that are still online with the dreamcast.
     
  3. Oveneise

    Member Oveneise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you have private servers, Seganet and the Gamespy servers were taken down a long time ago. I haven't tried to get my DC online enabled yet, so I can't help you there. Sorry. As far as being XlinkKai supported, don't know about that one either.
     
  4. MSaki

    Member MSaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Destruction of this planet
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.schtserv.com/register.php

    phantasy star online v1 and v2 private serv

    i used it on my dreamcast and still am but i prefer ofline play and no i dont think xlink kai works unless you can leak the modem into a etho aand plug it into your router.

    i just use the dial up modem to reverse it so it uses the wireless and send it via the dial up modem to my dreamcast.

    enjoy
     
  5. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    i rember trying to hook up my dreamcast on my wired phone to download some samba de amigo songs but that was it...
     
  6. Selim873

    Member Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Chillin' with Bob Ross
    Country:
    United States
    Quake 3 Arena is still online! [​IMG] But Dial-up is such a pain... People like to show off the DC Server's status on YouTube actually for some reason. I actually might get myself a Dreamcast BBA, but for games like PSO, you should be good with Dial-up, I used to play Runescape when I was still in Elementary school back when I had Dial-up back in '05, it's fine.

    [youtube]qDuhxwtPAqw[/youtube]
     
  7. 727

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    So in order to use it do you have to have a special dial up service or do you just put a phone plug into the DC?
     
  8. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The Dreamcast only supports a very limited connection. You pretty much have to use 56k dial-up.
     
  9. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone besides AOL even provide dialup access anymore? [​IMG]'
     
  10. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It hasn't been phased out completely yet, so you should have some luck. [​IMG]
     
  11. C-Kronos

    Member C-Kronos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    o.O Just look for a Dreamcast broadband adapter, messing with dial up is too annoying in my opinion.

    There's also a few tutorials around the net for using the DC dial up stuff wired up to a PC to use your cable connection, but you'll still be limited to the 56k from the DC's dialup modem.
     
  12. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Broadband adapter (BBA) is like $120 wherever you look. :
     
  13. C-Kronos

    Member C-Kronos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, I here you there; but, if you're a collector of Dreamcast items, it's a must have.
     

Share This Page