Dreamcast Emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by fr3kazoid, Dec 8, 2006.

Dec 8, 2006

Dreamcast Emulator by fr3kazoid at 2:46 AM (1,788 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. fr3kazoid
    OP

    Newcomer fr3kazoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm sure the Dreamcast Emulator is far from running efficiently on the DS, but remember that talking fish game? That would be AWESOME to have running on your DS. The DS is even equipped with the required microphone.

    The emulation will most likely never happen but I would love to see a port of the game Seaman. I would go like this if it ever happened... [​IMG]


    Added: Dreamcast VMU Emulator
     
  2. Xcursion

    Member Xcursion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Canada
    That's not a Dreamcast emulator. That's a DS emulator.
     
  3. fr3kazoid
    OP

    Newcomer fr3kazoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahh.. right you are!

    I didn't read too much into yet, I just got all excited about Seaman... [​IMG]

    Man dammit. I said MAN! [​IMG]
     
  4. Konamix02

    Member Konamix02 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Alabama
    Country:
    United States
    lol I heard that game was really wierd. You may not want to play it...It starts asking you personal questions and stuff.
     
  5. 2short

    Member 2short GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    in the northern cold...
    Country:
    Denmark
    you got excited about semen? [​IMG]
    anyway, that game looks really crazy...
     
  6. vancitypimp

    vancitypimp Newbie

    LOL you might as well ask for PS3 or Xbox 360 emulation. Emulating a powerhouse like DreamCast on a system with as weak specs as DS is pretty much impossible.
     
  7. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    The SH-4 architecture uses a very powerful instruction set. It's difficult to emulate even on high-end PC's.
     
  8. Helmut

    Member Helmut GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    France
    Erm... Do you know chankast? http://www.chanka.org/

    It actually runs almost all games at full speed and without major porblem. But the author released 2 versions before he quit the project. No update since 2004. He made this emulator in 3 weeks! And it wasn't to difficult since IBM provide many application to emulate powerPC and espicialy the one in the dreamcast. Don't know if all the doc is still public.
     
  9. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
  10. Jon eBegood

    Newcomer Jon eBegood Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Neupont City
    Country:
    Belgium
    Or ChankastEx, no-official version of chankast fixing problem that chankast had with some game (Ikaruga) and more...
     
  11. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    It runs most commercial games just fine as they don't really utilize the system to the fullest extent. Try running something like genplusplusDC on it which really does use all resources available and you'll see what I mean.

    Plus, what does IBM have to do with Dreamcast emulation? The SH-4 architecture was developed by Hitachi (and the graphics accelerator used in the DC was developed by NEC).
     

Share This Page