dragon quest V protection on m3ds real

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by grifter1, Feb 26, 2009.

Feb 26, 2009
  1. grifter1
    OP

    Newcomer grifter1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I know there are several threads on this topic, but none of them have helped me yet.

    I have the US version of Dragon Quest V: HotHB and am trying to play it on my m3DS Real card. I have the latest cheat.db from this site. Here is everything that I have tried:

    1. Tried running the game using the m3 Sakura firmware and enabling this cheat:

    [Backup Enabler/Game Fix Code]
    0200819C E3A00000
    020081A0 E12FFF1E

    I talk to everyone, can't get off the boat.

    2. Tried running the game using the m3ds 4.2e X firmware and enabling this cheat:

    [Backup Enabler/Game Fix Code]
    0200819C E3A00000
    020081A0 E12FFF1E

    I talk to everyone, can't get off the boat

    3. I downloaded DSATM, had Trainer as the only checkbox selected (not sure about the options here), loaded the following cheat into a txt file and pressed autopatch.

    [Backup Enabler/Game Fix Code]
    0200819C E3A00000
    020081A0 E12FFF1E

    I saved the new nds file, loaded it onto my card, start a new game, talk to everyone, can't get off the boat

    4. I did the same as #3, but used the following 2 cheats:

    [Protection Bypass Cheat]
    0200819C E3A00000
    020081A0 E12FFF1E

    [Protection Bypass Cheat 2]
    2209C798 000000CC

    Autopatched... saved... still can't get off the boat.

    So... What am I doing wrong? Does anyone out there have an M3DS Real and has gotten this game to work? What setting should I put into DSATM? Should I try to get another version of the rom? I've gotten past the boat on the actual cartridge that I bought, but I want to just load this on my M3DS... since I hate having to carry around multiple DS games with me.

    Please... help.
     
  2. Clau46

    Member Clau46 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It is working for me with the cheat enabled but no real time save. FW 4.2 e

    good luck
     
  3. grifter1
    OP

    Newcomer grifter1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    which cheat do you have enabled?

    this one:

    [Protection Bypass Cheat]
    0200819C E3A00000
    020081A0 E12FFF1E

    or this one:

    [Protection Bypass Cheat 2]
    2209C798 000000CC

    I've tried both, and they don't seem to work. Are you using the US or EUR version?
     
  4. Goshogun1

    Member Goshogun1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Country:
    United States
    Why not just use the patch that was released? Instead of using codes I used this patcher that is specific for the EURO version of the game. It worked perfectly for me on my M3Real. No codes need to be entered. The program is a few posts down from the OP.
    Here's the thread...
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=136009

    Edit: Try to get the EURO ver. Its the same as the US.
     
  5. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    seems m3 kinda sucks.
    i've used both my cyclo and my ezvi with this game and i've had no problems without having to use any cheats whatsoever (US Rom)
     
  6. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm having no issues at all, using eng sakura here but i'm playing through touchpod (classic m3 fw).

    I used DSATM on my copy and it worked fine.
     
  7. Rod

    Member Rod GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Country:
    Brazil
    Start playing it on No$gba, get past the boat part, save the game, and convert the save here.
     

Share This Page