Dragon Quest V - doesn't work?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by keke_keke, Jul 16, 2008.

Jul 16, 2008
  1. keke_keke
    OP

    Member keke_keke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I'm playing DQV DS on my R4, and the game loads up alright, but on the ship I seem to be stuck... no matter what I do, the game will not trigger the event and move on. I've spoken to everyone about 10 times and they just sit there and the story doesn't advance... has anyone managed to get off the ship yet?
     
  2. JPdensetsu

    Member JPdensetsu GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Taipei
    Country:
    Taiwan
    strange works for me ... Delete your save file and begin overnew ?
     
  3. keke_keke
    OP

    Member keke_keke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    This makes no sense. [​IMG] I started a new game and still nothing.

    I'm on R4 v1.18, dump made by DOMiNION or whatever, my character name is Aberu if that changes anything. >_> I spoke to my father, the two sailors on deck, the guy at the wheel, the soldier, the two sailors in the basement, the chef, the merchant, the guy that shouts at you with the shaking text box, and the captain. But nothing happens.
     
  4. keke_keke
    OP

    Member keke_keke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Well I downloaded it from another link, same dump... still doesn't work. I don't understand this one bit.
     
  5. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
  6. keke_keke
    OP

    Member keke_keke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Tried it on a different flashcart, same problem...
     
  7. gukid

    Newcomer gukid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having the exactly same problem, and I hear others having this problem as well (on an R4, but as you mentioned, it happens with others too). Could just be an actual bug in the game, maybe if you talk to people in a certain way it screws up and never lets you advance? I guess we'll just have to wait...
     
  8. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A few people have told me it should work if you downgrade your firmware.

    Also: I saw this on GameFAQs, no idea whether it's legit or not though.

     
  9. gukid

    Newcomer gukid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried the cheat code and was able to progress off the boat. Was this really a bug? Or maybe copy protection similar to Crystal Chronicles?...
     
  10. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it was copy protection it would have been 2 Slimes with the text "Thanks for Playing!". It was probably just a bug.
     

Share This Page