Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 Anti-piracy?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by 727, Sep 16, 2011.

Sep 16, 2011
  1. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    I was playing DQMJ2 for a bit on the intro and I got to the part where you have to introduce yourself to everyone. After that you go see the captain and he asks you to talk to this girl after you hear her scream but as soon as you leave, the entire ship is empty. I searched all over the place for 20 minutes; all the characters are erased and even the captain who gave you the order is no longer where he once was. I looked for a strategy guide and found nothing like this and it curiously reminds me of one of the other DQ games where you're also stuck on a ship at the beginning.

    Firmware R4wood
     
  2. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    This is new anti-piracy installed for the localized version. I don't remember if I downloaded a pre-patched version or used the patch database program to recognize the game and give it the proper patch.

    But it does need a fix, or else you're not going to be able to proceed. The AP seems to intentionally not load the next event, which leaves you in an empty, purposeless ship.
     
  3. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    So where do I get this? It seems like most people don't know about this. I'm glad that I called it correctly; I just knew it felt too similar to when they made you stuck on the boat.
     
  4. Mirby

    Member Mirby BDFF Hype~ :3

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    424
    Location:
    That One Place
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same issue, then got AKAIO 1.8.7 or sumtin and it was fixed.

    As for R4... I'm sure a fix will come soon.
     
  5. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    What's the very latest firmware of r4wood? I have not updated mine in several months so maybe that might work?
     
  6. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure joker 2 was fixed awhile ago...
     
  7. zygirl

    Newcomer zygirl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Canada
    I never had this problem, but I am using a supercardstwo... I have a clean version.

    I don't know if my card automatically fixed this or what -- but nothing like this happened to me.
     
  8. 727
    OP

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    It probably works on the new firmware but I need to update it.
     
  9. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    You could try the DS Scene RomTool to patch it.
    Link
     

Share This Page