Download play

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by jabjab, Apr 21, 2008.

Apr 21, 2008

Download play by jabjab at 8:07 PM (1,638 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. jabjab
    OP

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Yep another new guy posting asking for help [​IMG]

    Anyway got the Acekard2 on saturday and all seems well until i try some download play.

    My understanding was that the acekard could act as 'host' for local multiplayer games from a single (AK) cart.

    I am using the latest standard firmware version from acekard site (10) and have soft reset+cheats disabled.

    Using euro Mario kart i can only get the white screens with black nintendo symbol on the client and communication error on the host cotaining AK.
    This is with download play patch both on and off.

    I see this got a pass in the review, is this because of the firmware version or am i doing something dumb? (cooking mama worked!)
    (tried with a 2gb sandisk sdsdq-e11mk from games folder and a 1gb jap kingston from root, untrimmed rom.)

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. h4n9m4n

    Newcomer h4n9m4n Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I tried with Mario Kart and it worked. Are you changing global settings or game-specific settings? I went to START > Patches > DS Download Play Enabled. I didn't set it separately for the game itself.
     
  3. jabjab
    OP

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    yeah from 'start button' ive not touched any ini files as only got it saturday. (doesn't start change the global i dont know how to do individual^^)
    have tried usa and euro versions now with no success.
     
  4. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    for Mario Kart and Download Play you may have to turn off InGame Reset if that's on.
     
  5. jabjab
    OP

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    as i said above i had soft reset and cheats disabled, i think mario kart was one of the games soft reset didn't work in anyway.
    seems to be a few more having problems with mario kart on acekard forums but no progress for us yet.
     
  6. jabjab
    OP

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Just thinking, i didn't know how to set games up individually so sounds like either custom firmware or my noobiness. If custom firmware thats maybe why works for you?
    Anyways i managed to get it to work with bliss custom firmware on acekard forums for people still stuck
    http://www.acekard.com/bbs/viewthread.php?...;extra=page%3D2
     
  7. Chedderknight

    Member Chedderknight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    i can get download play for mario kart, but I cant get it to work on New Super Mario Bros
     
  8. jabjab
    OP

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    you can get download play on mario kart with the newest standard acekard firmware? not tried mario bros
     

Share This Page