Download Play

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by zone97, Jun 24, 2006.

Jun 24, 2006

Download Play by zone97 at 12:27 AM (1,861 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. zone97
    OP

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    I have a ds lite, my nephew has a regular DS, My ds is flashed, has an M3 lite. his is stock.

    using my cart, my "roms" and using single cart mode in metroid, and ridgeracer. he connects downloads and then it fails. did the same thing with another plain ds. Then i gave him the m3, and used a passkey2 on his and let him host, same roms, worked fine for me to download with the lite and play? Anyone know why this is? Could it be something that was done with the flashme?
     
  2. XeNoGeaR

    Member XeNoGeaR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Monnickendam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you need to get 1 of it flashed.

    some kind of game swork though like bomberman and tetris etc.....
    but there is already a topic ongoin 1 day ago..
     
  3. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Most likely related to flashme, or rather the other device not being flashed.

    There are confusing threads regarding this all over the place, but the only thing I can say is flash all devices (there's no downside!) and you won't have any problems - I never experienced one.

    Edit: Damn. I was beaten. I HAVE FURY [​IMG]
     
  4. XeNoGeaR

    Member XeNoGeaR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Monnickendam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    LOL OwNeD [​IMG]
     
  5. zone97
    OP

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    The lite is flashed, the red ds is not.

    are you saying i need to have them both be flashed for download play to work?

    BTW: where can you get the flash that works on the red/blue ds's? its not hosted on the original site anylonger.
     
  6. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    You can use the flashme.nds file you used on your DS Lite. Onto the real question... The receiving DS must have FlashMe if you're sending from a rom.
     
  7. XeNoGeaR

    Member XeNoGeaR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Monnickendam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you want all download play games to work...... you need to get both flashed yes.

    there are only a few games that works with flash + unflashed or passcard + unflash. whatever.....

    flashme is just so simple..esspecially for the big ones....so dont bother and flash that big one and make it gold [​IMG]
     
  8. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    I suppose the regular flashme should work everywhere.

    I also suppose, the downloading device has to be flashed [​IMG].

    But I cannot tell perfectly, mine are all flashed and I never had such problems.


    Edit: HA! Closer this time! But more opponents. Damn. [​IMG]
     
  9. XeNoGeaR

    Member XeNoGeaR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Monnickendam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    theres that one topic goin where we did some test if you are lookin for it all the questions will be solved there.

    gl


    EDIT : guess you are getting old ehh [​IMG]
     
  10. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Yeah, night shifts are really draining the life from me.
     
  11. Jeomite

    Member Jeomite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    To reiterate: a non-flashed cannot read encrypted ROMs via Download Play (a flashed one can both uncrypted and encrypted ROMs).

    So if the non-flashed is hosting the game, any flashed/non-flashed DS can get on it.

    If a flashed DS is hosting the game, only another flashed DS can read the incoming uncrypted files.
     
  12. zone97
    OP

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    just flashed it, it did fix the issue. thanks all.
     
  13. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Totally false. There is another topic around here where I did some tests, hosting from my flashed DS, and almost all games worked perfectly fine from my EZ4. The conclusion I came to is that the most likely culprit are the devices themselves, siince each one patches the roms differently to allow it to run.
     

Share This Page

Loading...