Download Play and flashme?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by IxthusTiger, Apr 3, 2007.

Apr 3, 2007

Download Play and flashme? by IxthusTiger at 1:39 AM (1,412 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone tried doing download play with the R4 but with their system flashed?

    Why doesn't download play work on R4? Can it be fixed?
     
  2. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Any game will work just fine with download play IF both DSes are flashed.
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Thats not true... Download play on the R4 doest work with most first party games, mainly only third party games work, whether both DS's are flashed or not, and it appears that issue cannot be fixed.


    The list of games that do and dont work can be found here.
    http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/R4_compatibility_list
     
  4. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    It WILL work with flashed DSes just fine according to my knowledge (as the encryption's not a problem anymore). Have you checked the download play on flashed DSes to prove me wrong though?
     
  5. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats only true with slot 2 carts, most slot 1 carts have trouble with download play [​IMG]
     
  6. IxthusTiger
    OP

    Member IxthusTiger Cruddy's Buddy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    But has anyone TRIED?
     
  7. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    only the recieving DS needs to be flashed for download play to work....I wouldnt suggest flashing your ds using a slot1 card because if u acidently screw up and short it when ur past 1% theres no way to recover without a slot 2(correct me if im wrong?)
     
  8. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    ive heard you can uninstall flashme but does it revert back to the original firmware or do u need to install the original firmware again. flashme is also good because if you brick your DS, not all of it gets bricked. the bottom half gets left untouched because the only way to get to their is to short the connection under the battery i think its called SL1. then u just reflash ur ds and it works again. correct me if im wrong on any of this
     
  9. captainobvio

    Newcomer captainobvio Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I never had any problems when i tested download play with my r4. I had my friend download mario kart ds off my r4 and it worked fine. So.. was that a fluke? i had a ds lite and he was using a ds fat
     
  10. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    Are your DSes flashed?
     
  11. captainobvio

    Newcomer captainobvio Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Mine isn't, and while i don't know for sure i highly highly doubt his was. He doesn't mess with the mod scene.
     
  12. dOoBiX

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 has problems with broadcasting the download play games...

    I tried to download play Mario Kart and Bleach 2nd from my R4 to a flashed DS, and both games gave white screen. However, download play with Tetris worked... Tetris doesn't even need a flashed DS for download play to work though.
     
  13. heretik

    Newcomer heretik Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Hello, this is my first post [​IMG] . Just wanted to share, I have NDS Lite using a R4DS. When i first tried to download play from a friend, it wouldn't detect the game. Then I tried to unplug the R4 and download play worked fine for me. For the other way around, there was no problem when someone downloads from me though.
     
  14. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    i've tried non-flashed (with R4) to flashed (no game) for EBA, and it worked fine.

    if anyone has any requests, i can try out some games. just dont overload me please [​IMG]
     

Share This Page