Download Channels directly to and from Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Phratt, Dec 31, 2008.

Dec 31, 2008
  1. Phratt
    OP

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    I know Fors (wherever he is) was going to make his CSM updatable like nintendo's updates. but do you think it's possible to download Wads from Websites from the Wii's internet browser and use them from there? Or even better, just install it directly from the internet browser?
     
  2. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    not with the way things are presently done - so for now , no... that being said you would never know what the coding masters here could come up with , but i have a feeling wii memory puts a limitation on a lot of this which is why SD cards are used.
     
  3. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes this IS possible using an interface very similar to HomeBrewBrowser and setting up your own server that stores the wads etc.

    However everyone I know that could code something like this wont take the time to do it.

    I could probably write an app that does this, but I wouldn't dare release it as the server would be pulled very quickly and my time and effort would be wasted.

    If you want something like this I'm afraid you would need to code it yourself, or wait patiently until someone else releases an app.

    Oh and not using the internet browser as that cant write to the SD, so you would need to write an app that goes to a site, lists contents and allows you to select a file, once selected it would need to download to SD and then unrar, not impossible, very hard though.
     
  4. moriphiend

    Newcomer moriphiend Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States

    What if you could specify the server? Like somewhere on my LAN. That way you could do it without going out to the net where some site would get taken down. That way if you have channels you want to load from across your network you could.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could obviously put the ip as a lan ip instead. [​IMG]
    But you couldn't load the wad, only copy it to the SD. Well I don't know how, not saying it's impossible though.

    If your thinking about this though, I would just recommend you get ftpii, does much the same without needing to do much except set it up.

    *IF* you edited wad managers code then you could install over lan I suppose, would save a little time, but I'm not sure WAD manager source is available...
     

Share This Page