?
  1. Yes (with no freezes)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes (once freezed in IOS 15 reloading)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes (twice freezed in IOS 15 reloading)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Yes (more than twice freezed in IOS reloading)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Country:
    I agree, and also he installs HBC with a different ID to avoid SM 4.3 deleting it. I think the guide on Wiihack by Maugfrog is much less complicated, he installs a standard HBC and then installs Priiloader before reboot and uses it to block the HBC deletion. Much more clever in my oppinion. Besides Maugfrog's guide doesn't need so many reboots and thus not using Indiana Pwn og SmashStack so many times...
     
  2. SifJar

    SifJar Not a pirate
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    Sorry, I forgot dop-Mii would need updated to support IOS80... [​IMG]

    Anyway, you can just use a tool like IOSPatcher (by leathl, you can get it from the libWiiSharp Google Code page [http://code.google.com/p/libwiisharp/downloads/list]) to patch the IOS, then install it with WAD Manager.
     
  3. fogbank

    fogbank GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think I'm misunderstanding. The Downgrade_TMD_Revision function does not add the content. It starts the AddTitle, changes the TMD in /tmp/, then finishes the AddTitle. When ES_AddTitleFinish is called the only thing that that has been "added" is the TMD. Yes the result is the existing IOS15 revision content on the NAND with a modified TMD, but no content was added during the downgrade process. All I am suggesting is to add the actual content during the downgrade process (that is how it is "different from what it has always done"). I understand that the signature is broken when you change even 1 byte, but it may be worth a try to test their implementation of the signature check thoroughly by using the full procedure for installing a title instead of just ES_AddTtileStart and ES_AddTItleFinish. For all we know they may be checking the content hashes in the TMD against content hashes that were supposed to be stored in memory when the content was added (I know, it is unlikely).

    I've never said that this would work (in fact I doubt it would), but it wouldn't be that hard to try it. That is how holes are found sometimes...by trying many different possibilities, instead of not trying them because they won't work "in theory".
     
  4. svpe

    svpe Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    No, apparently you don't seem to know why HBC turns upside down. Running it with a wrong titleid already causes that.
    It's also illegal to distribute HBC wads just like it's illegal to distribute IOS wads fwiw.
     
  5. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You know you are talking to a wall here, don't you? You might think that GBAtemp is bad, but then don't look at those other pages. They all link to tons of packages that contain lots of IOS wads and whatnot. Do you expect anybody who does that or follows such a guide understands anything?
     
  6. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Country:
    I didn't say I follow that guide and I don't say I find it okay to link to IOS Wads or other copyrighted material, all I meant was that I find the Wiihacks guide easier to use for noobs than the French guide. I fully agree with the policy regarding linking to copyrighted material here on GBATemp.
     
  7. Drag0nflamez

    Drag0nflamez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Netherlands
    We give tutorials to get copyrighted material, legally.
    NUS (Auto) Downloader will do it for us, totally legal (especially when you actually OWN a wii)
     
  8. gameking66

    gameking66 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. xfcrowman

    xfcrowman GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Country:
    United States
  10. fogbank

    fogbank GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    I tried this with the latest IOS61 and it failed with -1017. No surprise. At least I tried it. [​IMG]
     
  11. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,587
    Country:
    United States
    You guys have actually read the sticky guide on this site right? If you have not, go ahead and read it, download the pack, then take a look at all those nice cios wads.

    This is working pretty well for people
    4.3 Virgin Softmod Guide

    I understand why a site would not want to host a wad, but I don't understand why any individual would care.
     
  12. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Country:
    Thanks again SifJar, that is a nice tool.
     
  13. hetfield

    hetfield GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
  14. WiiCrazy

    OP WiiCrazy Be water my friend!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Country:
    I had done my first tests on 3.2, with the comfort of homebrew channel... Now updated to 4.3 and everything turned into a nightmare... One app booting with one version of loadmii, the other one booting with another version... Same with using a forwarder for cfg... Finally found the best working combo...

    To launch wad manager I used loadmii since I couldn't find an elf version with ios selection.

    I tweaked TBR a bit, just added a sleep after IOS reload and removed hbc check so that it freezes less on reloading to IOS 15 and gracefully returns to Menu...

    Now everything is ready to prepare a noob guide using just core stuff with no bloated packages...
     
  15. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    What libogc do you use? Maybe the IOS Reload code is still broken. I had heavy problems with it in the past*, then i updated and everything seems fine, but i didn't load IOS15 more than 2 or 3 times since then. And what are you talking about the HBC check? If an app is booted from HBC, i think everybody wants it to exit to it. If LoadMii has an own reload stub, then it might helpful if you remove the HBC check, so does it?

    *i patched my libogc to use the IOS reload code from libogc 1.7 back then
     
  16. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I did just patch my libogc 1.8.3 with the IOS reload code from libogc 1.7.1, here's my test TBR .dol without any changes:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/404761041/TBRlibogcTEST.zip
    (ONLY download if you REALLY are going to test it)

    I want to know if this runs more stable than the current version. If yes, libogc is still broken.
     
  17. WiiCrazy

    OP WiiCrazy Be water my friend!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Country:
    I compiled with libogc version=1.8.3 . I think adding sleep helped since original launched from HBC was working like 1 out of 10 now it freezes 1 out of 4 (actually used only 4 times so this has not statistical value, but saw it crashed like 8-9 times in a row the other way...)

    Removed hbc check because possibly Indiana Pwns uses Exception Vector area... hence TBR (if used through Indiana Pwns) just codedumps on exit since HBC check succeeds but actually there is no HBC...

    With different versions of loadmii, the original TBR app just codedumps on start or launches with no wiimote function... This is the reason btw I removed the HBC check, to launch it directly from Indiana Pwns and return to menu on exit...

    ps: of course reload crash can be due to ogc version... I don't have 1.7 anymore...
     
  18. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    The errors with different loading methods that occur directly on startup could be entrypoint related. If you want to release a stable tool, you might want to check that.

    And i guess you want to patch your libogc yourself if my test .dol works better, so here's the function i replaced:
    CODEs32 __IOS_LaunchNewIOS(int version)
    {
    ÂÂÂÂu32 numviews;
    ÂÂÂÂs32 res;
    ÂÂÂÂu64 titleID = 0x100000000LL;
    ÂÂÂÂSTACK_ALIGN(tikview,views,4,32);
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOSÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂs32 oldversion;
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂs32 newversion;
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂif(version < 3 || version > 0xFF) {
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn IOS_EBADVERSION;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂ
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂoldversion = IOS_GetVersion();
    ÂÂÂÂif(oldversion>0) printf("Current IOS Version: IOS%d\n",oldversion);
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂtitleID |= version;
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂprintf("Launching IOS TitleID: %016llx\n",titleID);
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂ
    ÂÂÂÂres = ES_GetNumTicketViews(titleID, &numviews);
    ÂÂÂÂif(res < 0) {
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf(" GetNumTicketViews failed: %d\n",res);
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn res;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂif(numviews > 4) {
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf(" GetNumTicketViews too many views: %u\n",numviews);
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn IOS_ETOOMANYVIEWS;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂres = ES_GetTicketViews(titleID, views, numviews);
    ÂÂÂÂif(res < 0) {
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf(" GetTicketViews failed: %d\n",res);
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn res;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂres = ES_LaunchTitle(titleID, &views[0]);
    ÂÂÂÂif(res < 0) {
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf(" LaunchTitle failed: %d\n",res);
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn res;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂ__ES_Reset();
    ÂÂÂÂnewversion = IOS_GetVersion();
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂprintf(" IOS Version: IOS%d %d.%d\n",newversion,IOS_GetRevisionMajor(),IOS_GetRevisionMinor());
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂif(newversion != version) {
    #ifdef DEBUG_IOS
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂprintf(" Version mismatch!\n");
    #endif
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn IOS_EMISMATCH;
    ÂÂÂÂ}
    ÂÂÂÂreturn version;
    }

    PS: I will shoot anybody who quotes the code!(for 2 reasons)
     
  19. WiiCrazy

    OP WiiCrazy Be water my friend!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Country:
    @WiiPower : Btw it's ios specific or it might relate to the current code... Since this is only faced when reloading into ios 15 but not into 41, 36 and so on... I'm happy with the current form, I'm not releasing anything I'll just make a guide for my local forum. There are already dozen forks released I guess, I haven't used any of them. Don't have time.
     
  20. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Well, if you have a "new" Wii, it might be really IOS related, as we know that the "LU64+" Wiis can't load IOS36v1042 due to some timings. Maybe it's the same with IOS15v257, just that this works 1 out of 10 times. But my main suspect is still libogc. The IOS Reload code was changed when the timing stuff on the "LU64+" Wiis was discovered, and maybe its intention was to load IOS36v1042 on these Wiis. Anyways, at this time the IOS Reload code was broken, and it seemed fixed to me in 1.8.x. But i always load module based IOS and cIOS, so ... i'm repeating myself, i think you get it and i can stop
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Downgrading, Virgin,