Doom 3 Source released, chances of a Wii port?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by T.Kuranari, Dec 23, 2011.

Dec 23, 2011
  1. T.Kuranari
    OP

    Member T.Kuranari GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Japan
    I'm sorry if this is a stupid question (which most likely is), but as many of you know (or don't know yet) id Software recently released the source code of Doom 3 under the GPL v3 license (link). I'm curious whether it's possible to make a Wii port. I know the Wii doesn't have enough power to render the game, but what if one optimizes the game big time specifically for the Wii so that it becomes playable? :)
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It would require so much modification to get it to run that I don't think anyone will consider it worth their time.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    It would be doable minus some of the complex effects like advanced lighting and/or shadows. I hear dhewg knows the code pretty well...
     
  4. ficarra1002

    Member ficarra1002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    But doom 3 sucked.
     
    DarkFlare69 and thiefb0ss like this.
  5. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Directly for the Wii, it would. But Linux devs will probably port it to work completely with OpenGL like every other id engine has been.

    Then from an OpenGL version to a Wii version is a much smaller step to take. But it would still be a long time until a wii release.
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yeah...have fun with that.
     
  7. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    most important point, and there are better engines I think to get games developed on Wii.
     
  8. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Lets just port skyrim to Wii *nods* :)
     
    3 people like this.
  9. JonnyPoots

    Member JonnyPoots GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Did Doom2 ever get ported to wii?


    edit: just checked, it did
     
  10. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    this will never run on the wii :lol:
     
  11. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    doom 3 on a console? It's already officially on Xbox (a haven for homebrew) and playable on Xbox 360. Try one of those
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. T.Kuranari
    OP

    Member T.Kuranari GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    Japan
    That's good to hear. Do you know if dhewg at least played with the thought of porting it to the Wii or did he just look at the source for the fun of it? :)
     
  13. ficarra1002

    Member ficarra1002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    OP, why would you play doom 3, when 1 and 2 are available?
     
  14. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm just curious...are you being cynical or not?
    (no offense...I really can't tell)

    Doom 3 was all about being in the dark with just having a flashlight. By removing the lighting and shadows, wouldn't that just suck all the tension out of the game?


    (@ficarra1002: I agree with you...doom 1 & 2 were far more fun that that game that was doom in pretty much nothing but the name).
     
  15. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    a "nothing but the name" comparison would be like the Resident evil games and the movies. But Doom 3 I feel had enough influence from the first two and was a decently scary and startling experience. Though it took me years to complete it since it's so boring
     
  16. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    He wasnt actually say to remove the lightning and shadows, he said to remove the advanced lightning and shadows. I remember having to use a hack for the leaked beta that came out like 2 years before launch to disable those effects, and it was still pretty much the same as the final titel.
     
  17. DRS

    Newcomer DRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sort of useless bump of thread. But here it goes.

    I think a port is interesting, but instead of worrying about graphics, start worrying about memory requirment. Linux version of Doom needs 256MB RAM to run. How to fit such a chunk of data in 24MB SRAM and 52MB available DRAM on the Wii? Simple answer: you can''t!

    As for graphics, easy parts:
    - per pixel light attenuation can be done using either 2D or pseudo 3D texture,
    - diffuse and specular normal mapping can be emulated by a 2D algorithm in TEV indirect texture unit
    - and stencil shadows can be done by using RGB6 framebuffer and render to alpha buffer.

    hard parts:
    - Wii doesn't really support cube maps (would be very slow), so other kind of projection must be programmed.
    - Disadvantage of rendering to alpha is that the buffer has to be exported to texture first before it can be used to perform stencil compares. It also requires an additional texgen to calculate projected point on stencil texture. Exporting stencils for 8 lights at 25fps in 640x480 takes about 61Mpix/sec and then 61MTexels/sec to use them. A good percentage of the wii's total fillrate (thus gpu cycles).
    - Need compression to reduce the amount of texture memory needed
    - It's a damn 3GB game.... It will be slow from SD card

    Porting the XBox version would be a lot easier I guess. It's already suited to 64MB of RAM and low end GPU/CPU. However, a complete team was assigned to do that, not one or two homebrew coders. I might give it a try once other people have downed the memory footprint a little:) Besides, TenebraeGX is fun to finish too.
     
    4 people like this.
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'd assume simply downsampling the resources (lower-resolution textures, lower-poly models, etc.) could take out a noticeable chunk of the requirements.
     
  19. DRS

    Newcomer DRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My Tenebrae port currently can't even load all default Quake textures and (generated) normal maps. Most quake textures are 64x64. I already ditched mipmapping, downsized model lerping and shadow caches, maximum lights per map and maximum active lights per frame. If I could use the complete 64MB of DRAM somehow it would help a lot.

    Therefore, really, downsizing the textures and models does reduce mem requirements a lot as you say, but it most likely won't be enough; my guess is that Doom uses at least 128MB texture cache and 128MB for map, shadow polygons cache, model caches, program code etc. Since Doom animates the model's vertex meshes, I guess models don't use much memory anyway (Quake models use a mesh per pose which requires much more memory) . So downsizing textures and models would likely still require >80MB of total memory. I guess the XBox version ditches more stuff than people credit it for.

    I think the proper way to go for a simple port would be downscaling all textures, bring it back to it's essence (basically resembling Quake with portal culling instead of PVS culling) and then see how much memory is left for shadowing and normalmaps. Will be a long way to travel!
     
  20. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    If you know PowerPC well enough you could implement virtual memory, using a file on the NAND or SD as backing storage (USB is possible too but would be slow). It wouldn't really be usable for textures but could hold everything else.
     

Share This Page