Don't know what to do with my Wii anymore...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bmaster154, May 28, 2010.

May 28, 2010
  1. bmaster154
    OP

Newcomer bmaster154 Advanced Member

Canada
    Hi everyone, I'm seriously in a jam. After recently buying Super Mario Galaxy 2, I played it a lot, and now it seems my Wii doesn't want to read discs normally anymore (right since I started playing). It all started with not being able to read SSBB first, then Gamecube games, and now regular Wii games take a lot of reset, eject, clean, reset, eject... And it's really frustrating because I bought a lot of games and Wii points cards for it, which cost me so much that the loss is unbearable. I'm so desperate with it, I'd want to mod, hack it or whatever else means I could play games on it back again. I don't care, as long as it should work. For those who wonder, its 3 years old and almost every time a put a disc in, it gives an error message...

So, what should I do? Is there anything I can do about it to correct my current problems? Would some illegal operation or whatever work best in my case? I really don't know what to do anymore...

2. Maplemage

Member Maplemage ಠ_ಠ

Antarctica
    Get homebrew channel then get Super dumper and try to dump your games on your USB and then use USB loader GX.

3. DKAngel

Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Australia
    possibly the laser on your wii is dying? get a replacment dvd drive for it

4. techboy

Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States
    Sounds like my friend's wii, which did the same thing. You can try cleaning it with the official lens cleaner kit. If it doesn't help, it's a dead drive.

You can get a new DVD drive for about $50 (plus a tri-wing screwdriver if you don't have one). They aren't hard to install. Just a few screws and a ribbon connector. All wii drives fit all wiis. Just be sure you don't buy a D3-2 model (these are often sold for cheap because they're useless for DVD movies and burned discs).