Dolphin - Recording?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Quincy, Oct 11, 2010.

Oct 11, 2010

Dolphin - Recording? by Quincy at 9:52 PM (3,849 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Quincy
    OP

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Anyone knows how to record using Dolphin emulator?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't it have a built-in recording option?
     
  3. Quincy
    OP

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does it? How do I activate it then?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Idunno', check through the menus.
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use Fraps.
     
  6. Quincy
    OP

    Member Quincy Your own personal guitarist :3

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,435
    Location:
    Your house, robbing your stuff
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Fraps kills the FPS, even on my machine wich snoops VRAM from my DDR3
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Actually using system RAM as video RAM is slower than a card having it's own RAM.

    A video card with 512MB of it's own RAM will be faster than a card with 256MB that's using 768MB of system RAM. It's all about the latencies there, and it's simply a far shorter distance from the card's CPU to it's own built-in RAM modules than it is through the system bus and to the RAM on the motherboard.

    Anyways in FRAPS choose to record uncompressed (full frames if that's what it calls it) and see if that hurts your FPS as bad.
     
  8. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Any sort of screen capture by and for the PC will end up hurting the FPS a little.

    As for a built-in function for Dolphin, I'm not sure either.
    I'd recommend FRAPS and fiddle with the settings for minimal FPS loss.
     

Share This Page