Dolphin now emulates the Wii!

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Whizz, Jul 14, 2008.

Jul 14, 2008

Dolphin now emulates the Wii! by Whizz at 10:33 AM (10,153 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. Whizz
    OP

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Team Dolphin just announced that their emulator now also supports the Wii.

    Better yet, it plays some commercial games, as in you can watch their opening movies.
    Check out this thread: http://www.emutalk.net/showthread.php?t=44928 for screenshots.

    Edit:

    Dolphin is now open source aswell!
    http://www.emutalk.net/showthread.php?t=44926

    Compiled versions of Dolphin (used vs2k5 sp1)

    Win32 version:
    http://falcon4ever.pcsx2.net/dolphin/SVN_b...n_x86_SVN_r5.7z

    X64 version:
    http://falcon4ever.pcsx2.net/dolphin/SVN_b...n_x64_SVN_r5.7z

    *note1: you can not use the DSP-LLE plugin
    *note2: If you get errors when using the direct3d plugin, upgrade your dx9 using http://files.ngemu.com/gba/vba-m/download/..._webupdater.zip
    *note3: Wii emulation is not working without the masterkey.bin (which is NOT included in this package)

    Readme:
     


  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    wow awesome! [​IMG]
     
  3. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah, it's a wii/gamecube emulator, why didn't you say that? i found it quite strange why anyone would want to emulate a dolphin lol
     
  5. Whizz
    OP

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Lol, I figured most people would people would know xD
     
  6. AishunBao

    Newcomer AishunBao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Holy shit, nice stuff. o________o I wonder when games will be playable.
     
  7. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome...will try it out on my Mac tomorrow [​IMG]

    Also, if not posted on the Portal when I get up, I'll post it [​IMG]

    Thanks for teh cool news!
     
  8. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    WTF? no downloads?.... [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. Whizz
    OP

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Edit: I found the downloadlinks, first post is now updated.
     
  10. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I always knew those dolphins were smart
     
  11. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yew beat me to it, I was about to post this.
    Amazing news, plus it's only preliminary support (only intro movies, Wiimote support not quite there yet), so way to get everyone excited over Wii emulation.
    Not to mention the team probably won't carry on working on Wii emulation until GameCube emulation is done.
    I think you covered everything in there, so yeah.

    Oh, and it's all the sweeter for the fact this is the first time we've had news of an update for nearly a year. I was beginning to think Dolphin was on the brink of extinction lol.
     
  12. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    The team is no longer working on the emulator that is why they made it open source. Hopefully some people who really wanna see this project finished will pick it up and add to it. It's very exciting news, but at the same time, this news is just like when the PSP emulator was announced. Nothing actually worked on it more than just PoC and it still doesn't. Hopefully that will not be the case with this.
     
  13. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, it is open source though, so hopefully some people will pick up on it, or at least help.
    And SSBM is playable in 32-bit now, though it is obviously a little slow, and nothing has any sound. Hopefully the sound will be fixed in this upcoming official release.

    And jinxvorheeze, they haven't actually dropped it yet, they just don't think they'll finish it or do much more work on it. Which is why they decided to release the source.
     
  14. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Both versions don't work [​IMG]
    Hallo? Help me, I have 32 version, and it gives me standard windows error
     
  15. Whizz
    OP

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The x86 version works fine. Try reading note 2 from the startpost?
     
  16. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did that. Downloaded, installed. Still classic windows error.
     
  17. Whizz
    OP

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Strange. Works fine over here.
     
  18. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  19. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try playing around with the plugins and such. Mine gives a weird error to do with "contiguous data" first time I try to play a game, but it works fine after that.
     
  20. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't OPEN the emulator. This error comes when I try to boot it up.
     

Share This Page