does wood R4 works with the original DS?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Gitaroo, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011
  1. Gitaroo
    OP

    Member Gitaroo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    I put wood R4 for my original R4 card, shows up on DS lite but my original DS says no cart is inserted
     
  2. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    1. Yes
    2. Uh-huh that's normal
    3. wtf.
     
  3. Gitaroo
    OP

    Member Gitaroo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    4. what?
     
  4. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    I do apologise - my post wasn't completely comprehensible.

    1. Yes, Wood works with the Phat
    2. That is normal, it should work with the DSL
    3. Wtf, that's not normal.
     
  5. Gitaroo
    OP

    Member Gitaroo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada
    what version of wood should I use? I use 1.23 for DSL, is there a different version of wood for the phat?
     
  6. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Blow into the slot 1 of the DS Phat with compressed air or a very dry breath. Also gently blow onto the contacts of the R4 card. Whenever I had this problem with my Phat, that was the solution.

    If it's an Original R4, it won't be a contacts issue. Ever. The cart fits so snugly into the DS Phat, it's a little unnerving.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Wood doesn't determine if it can be detected or not.
     
  8. Gitaroo
    OP

    Member Gitaroo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Canada

    ahh, that does the trick, thanks
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Not true.
    Eventually the contacts wear a little bit and adding a slip of paper helps.
    While WAIO was still being made, I used my R4 almost exclusively because I liked having Moonshell boot ROMs through the Wood loader, but I'd have trouble getting the card to be detected after putting it in. After slipping a piece of paper under the PCB it's worked flawlessly.
     
  10. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I never had that issue with my DS Phat and I've been using my Original R4 (or at least 1:1) for well over a year now. Every time I had a detection issue a simple hard breath into slot 1 and a nice hard breath on the contacts of the cart fixed it right up. Of course, it only happened twice. Everybody's cart works differently though, so I guess it could happen.
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my real R4 for 3 years now.
     
  12. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    You may want to invest in a new R4, or contact cleaner; but I suspect that a replacement R4 might actually be a cheaper solution. The only problem that I ever had with my Original R4 and DS Phat combo is the spring loaded msd slot.
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Why? My R4 works fine (slip of paper under the contacts) and I have my AceKard2i.
     

Share This Page