Does Wii64 Allow The Use of the Gameboy Expansion Pack?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Link2999, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Link2999
    OP

    Newcomer Link2999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Like for Pokemon Stadium games. If so how how would I set it up so it reads the files?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,940
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    This one says mempack support, so I suppose thats the expansion pack
    its under r40 at the bottom in the changelog
     
  3. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    is wii64 even playable yet?
     
  4. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dont see how that could be possible without an official N64 controller with a mem expansion pack. unless you change the roms used to read data from a GB rom held in a specific folder on the SD root. but thats alot of effort as you'd probably have to change each rom seperately.

    and no, as far as i know its not fully playable yet. in fact, i havent heard anything about it in months lol
     
  5. wpilgrim

    Newcomer wpilgrim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah i doubt it currently. the wii64 does work with a couple of games so far but they are supper laggy with tons of bugs, so more or less wii64 is pretty unbearable hopefully development is continuing with it but i like you have not heard much about it in months.
     
  6. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    No PC N64 emulator supports the expansion pak with Pokemon Stadium.
    Not a single one.
    Forget it.

    However with other games it might be possible.
    (By that I mean the developers could add support for it. There's no support for it yet though. [​IMG])
     
  7. bluebird12

    Member bluebird12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Country:
    United States
  8. wpilgrim

    Newcomer wpilgrim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the update!
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dont understand what it is that causes N64 games to be so unplayable via an emulator on wii... its clearly possible as you can play them as a VC game officially so its not like the power isnt there (if it wasnt i'd be worried for nintendo for not upgrading specs lol)

    when N64 had specs of: Fast3D microcode: < ~100,000 high accuracy polygons per second.
    Turbo3D microcode: 500,000–600,000 normal accuracy polygons per second
    (these can be seen here)

    and PS1 had: 500,000 texture mapped and light-sourced polygons per second.
    (which i think is what sony claimed. the actual might be 180million. just check Here lol

    i dont see why ps1 and N64 have round about the same compatibility of emulation on the wii when the ps1 has more powerful graphics... shouldnt that mean that n64 should be ahead? lol i may be blabbing now as i'm tired [​IMG]
     
  10. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm not gonna elaborate as it's been done before and explained more properly than i could, but obviously JUST the specs (polygon count) has close to nothing to do with why something may or may not be harder or easier to emulate.

    The wii has the capability to do both, the real trick is ofcourse, the emulation itself which would require alot of code conversion, more or less depending on the originally used set-ups.
     
  11. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    So i guess i dreamt doing it then on pc? It works perfectly except for playing the pokemon game on the n64 (which freezes/error)
     
  12. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Every aspect of the N64 has been emulated on the pc, hardware-wise.
     
  13. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    polygon count has NOTHING to do with it....

    its simple really.... emulating a 64bit system on a 32bit system is difficult to say the least...

    "A change from a 32-bit to a 64-bit architecture is a fundamental alteration, as most operating systems must be extensively modified to take advantage of the new architecture. Other software must also be ported to use the new capabilities; older software is usually supported through either a hardware compatibility mode (in which the new processors support the older 32-bit version of the instruction set as well as the 64-bit version), through software emulation, or by the actual implementation of a 32-bit processor core within the 64-bit processor (as with the Itanium processors from Intel, which include an x86 processor core to run 32-bit x86 applications). The operating systems for those 64-bit architectures generally support both 32-bit and 64-bit applications."

    see....
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64-bit#32_vs_64_bit

    Speed and power has nothing to do with it... you are emulating a different type of processor architecture....therefore you are using valuable cpu clock cycles to "emulate" or "pretend" you are running a type of architecture and then in turn running code on top of this "emulated" architecture ...


    apples to apples comparisons do NOT work here....

    forgive me if some of you more computer literate folks find flaws in my argument, i am trying to dumb down my explanation to make it easily understood...
     
  14. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    this is true, however the processing power to do this is huge when comparing clock speed to clock speed....

    again.. comes down to emulating a 64bit system on a 32bit system... the n64 had a 93.75 MHz 64bit processor.... emulating a 64 on PC requires at the minimum a 1-1.2ghz processor......

    (yes you may have a 64bit cpu (core2 duo, amd64) but all the n64 emu;s i know of are 32bit programs)
     
  15. Sachka

    Member Sachka GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Lumiose City
    Country:
    France
    Project64 does it. you can enable expansion pack for stadium 2 and also install transfer pack plugin, you just need a gb/gbc pokemon game save file
     
  16. jeffc313

    Newcomer jeffc313 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    mupen64plus has 64-bit support (can be compiled natively on 64 bit operating systems)
     
  17. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    i figured it wouldnt be long till someone posted a 64bit n64 emu....
     

Share This Page