Does the Wii ever force one to update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Smash Br0, Jan 1, 2010.

Jan 1, 2010
  1. Smash Br0
    OP

Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United States
    I'm still pretty new at Wii hacking, so I've got a quick question:

Does the Wii ever force one to update? Or does it always ask if you want to or not?

I know some games will require an update to play if you haven't hacked around that problem...

Anyhow, if there is such a thing as forced, immediate updates, what do you do once they start if you don't want to update? Just turn the Wii off?

Thanks for any answers.

2. Hatsu

Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

Australia
    DO NOT TURN IT OFF! It will brick!

It will always ask if you wan't to update.

EDIT: The only way to stop a disk update is to either use Priiloader to skip disk-updates or turn the wii off before pressing "OK"!

3. Smash Br0
    OP

United States
    It will always ask, even if you insert a newer game that requires an update?

Huh, I thought I remembered 'em not asking, and just updating as soon as you start such a game...

In that case, what happens if you choose "No?"

4. Hatsu

Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

Australia
    There isn't a "No" button. It's either "OK." or turn it off.

5. nabster92

Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States
    If you have a disc with an update that you need on your Wii, it will say wii system update in the disc channel banner instead of the game banner and if you want to play the game through the disc channel you will need to accept the update.