Does the EZ Flash 3 in 1 support GB/GBC roms?

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by GammaGulp, Jul 2, 2007.

Jul 2, 2007
  1. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I ordered an R4 and I found that GB/GBC Emulation on Slot-1 stuff is very hit-or-miss. Therefore I'd like to have the EZ be my R4 companion, but only if it will be able to run GB/GBC roms. Can someone clear this up for me?
     


  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The DS does not have any GB/GBC capability built in, so emulators are your only choice.

    If you get the 3-in-1 (or some other GBA capable cart) you'll be able to use Goomba and Goomba Color, which are much more mature emulators than Lameboy. It's still going to be hit and miss with Goomba, but less so.
     
  3. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a compatibility list? Thanks.
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There's a compatibility list for Goomba here and one for Goomba Color here, but they're both quite outdated. I don't know of any current compatibility lists.
     
  5. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. And the latest version of Goomba is on that site? Also, Do I put the emulator right on the EX Flash when I get it, and put the roms on my R4 and then they work together? I'm still unsure how it all works.
     
  6. Dunny

    Member Dunny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless it's significantly changed since I last built a Goomba image, what you do is run the supplied executable on your PC, which will allow you to choose GB/GBC ROM images for the emulator. When you're done, finish the process and the app will spit out a largish (Depending on the amount of ROMs you chose) .gba file. Copy that to your R4's GBA directory, and launch it as a GBA ROM.

    There's no need to store individual GB/GBC ROM images onj your R4, just the Goomba .gba file.

    D.
     
  7. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I see, thanks. So I guess getting that EZ Flash is a good idea then as a companion to my R4...the linkage between the two is good, right?
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, GBA linkage works. The only problem is with DS games that read the save from the GBA game (currently only Pokemon Diamond & Pearl do this), the DS game will have to be patched for that to work.
     
  9. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so all those emulators on that page should work with the EZ Flash? I put the .gba files on my R4 and the EZ reads them, correct?
     
  10. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The only GBA software I know of that doesn't work with the 3-in-1 is Pogoshell.

    To use the 3-in-1 with the R4, you'll need to use either the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool or GBALdr.

    You put the .gba files on the microSD card and use one of those programs to load games onto the 3-in-1.
     
  11. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
  12. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    DS mode emulators that use DLDI do not need the roms packed into the .nds file, they can read the files from the memory card.

    All GBA mode emulators, and all DS mode emulators that do not support DLDI need to have the roms packed into the emulator file, as they cannot read the filesystem on the R4.
     
  13. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Get Lameboy for your R4 or any Slot-1 for that matter. Its up to 0.8 and it has pretty much everything,sound,colour,no slowdown,speed up game play,etc. All it needs is RTC(which probably wont happen [​IMG] )
     
  14. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    What's RTC?

    And also, about DLDI. Doesn't R4 automatically have that built in? So I won't need to "patch" anything?
     
  15. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Did GB games use the RTC?
     
  16. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think some of the Pokeyman games used it. The guy that's developing Lameboy said RTC support would be in the next release.
     
  17. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    BTW, I read something that indicated that you have to do something special to make save games work on an EZ. What do I have to do?
     
  18. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Patch them with EZ4 Client or GBATA for SRAM.
     
  19. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    This is only for commercial GBA games. Emulators and other GBA homebrew that save to SRAM do not need to be patched.
     
  20. GammaGulp
    OP

    Newcomer GammaGulp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so when I get my R4 & EZ Flash V what should I do first, step by step? What should I drag and drop into my SD Card first?
     

Share This Page