Does Nintendo Know?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by leavemealone347, Mar 17, 2008.

Mar 17, 2008

Does Nintendo Know? by leavemealone347 at 6:10 AM (2,459 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. leavemealone347
    OP

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys I have to send my DS back in [​IMG]

    The L trigger is hella loose and I can move it around, the touch screen turns off (or will lower the brightness randomly) at times, and the up-right directional combo doesn't work at all (well a little but you have to try several times to get it to move in that direction..)



    My question though is will Nintendo know that I used a CycloDS? I don't know if there would be any troubles if they did I'm just making sure.
     
  2. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you didn't flash your DS then no, they won't be able to tell. Unless you leave it in there when you send it back [​IMG]
     
  3. leavemealone347
    OP

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Nope no flashing done. I'll be sure to take it out lol
     
  4. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    No there is no way they can tell if all you have done is use a slot-1 cart. If you had used flashme to use one of the older slot-2 ones they could but even that is easy to reverse.
     
  5. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    If you've flashed your DS Lite - they can.

    But even if they did know you used one, there isn't much they can/would do about it.
     
  6. DespizingU

    Member DespizingU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna be sending in mine pretty soon for a stuck pixel. And I have flashme v8 installed. I should probably play it safe and run noflashme?
     
  7. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    always unflash a DS when u send it in. just play it safe.
     
  8. ExDee

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    well i dont think the cyclo will leave something behind the ds. so thats a no O_O
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Uninstalling FlashMe is as risky as installing it, as if you lose power in the last 10% or so your DS may be bricked. That's the point at which the uninstaller removes the emergency recovery code from the firmware.

    Instead, try installing FlashMe_stealth. It's harder to detect (though still possible) as it leaves the health and safety warning screen intact.
     
  10. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Then send that DS to nintendo, say You cant turn it on [​IMG]


    or install FlashMe V.8a stealth no auto boot for sure.
    It still leave warning screen and even nintendo has slot2 flashcart to test on it, it won't boot unless they press a button combo.
     
  11. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,529
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nintendo employ sniffers that can tell the smell of cheap plastic, so any unofficial cart that has been used will be noticed [​IMG]
     
  12. leavemealone347
    OP

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    Well it was just sent in [​IMG]


    Hope it comes back fast. I only had it for about a week and was about to finish Phoenix Wright 1.
     
  13. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    I sent in my flashed DS and everything went fine, it had the official firmware on it when I got it back though.
     
  14. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Did they fix or just sent you a new one?
     
  15. cruddybuddy

    Banned cruddybuddy Group: Banned!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,864
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Be careful. Even if you didn't flash your DS or leave your cart in the DS, they still might find out. I sent a DS in a couple weeks ago and that son-of-a-bitch ratted on me! Yeah, it's cool having a sentient DS that can talk, but I'll be damned if it didn't sell me out!
     
  16. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Really? lol
     
  17. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    Sent a new one.
     
  18. leavemealone347
    OP

    Member leavemealone347 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    United States
    I really hope they send me a new one...
     

Share This Page