Gaming Does anyone know whats wrong with this game?

test84

GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,698
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Iran, Tehran.
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
1,244
Country
Iran
Its this game Colin McRae Rally 2 that I'm trying to play, when I run it, it resizes my desktop to something like 640x480, then a blank screen and then resizes it back to its original resolution.

I tried different N*o-C*D executables and re-installing DirectX, no luck.
 

dweirdo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
22
Country
what are your specifications? are you running your latest driver? what is your OS?
more info and i guess youll get a straight answer.
 

Narin

The Cheat Master, kupo!
Former Staff
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
2,629
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
cheats.gbatemp.net
XP
1,048
Country
United States
Try this, it works great to get a lot of older games and applications to work under Windows XP
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;displaylang=en

QUOTE said:
Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit 5.0
Brief Description
The Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit (ACT) version 5.0 contains the necessary tools and documentation to evaluate and mitigate application compatibility issues before deploying Microsoft® Windows Vista, a Windows Update, or a new version of Windows® Internet Explorer® in your environment.
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,649
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
6,275
Country
United States
thats what happens with all my games
GTA:VC and SA
Halo
Half-life 2
and some others

I thought thats what its supposed to do
but I have to run some of these games at 800x600
since my gfx card cant handle them at 1024x768 (max native res)
 

fenthwick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
153
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
Visit site
XP
111
Country
Some/most games have an auto detection of your hardware. When the game starts it will resize the resolution to what it thinks your computer will be able to handle along with other settings. You can always change the resolution to your default setting in the options but that mightmean that you can't max the game.

But from what you described you have an onboard GPU and that might be the cause that the game refuses to run and returns you back to the deskktop.
 

Hillsy_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
262
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
81
Country
When playing games on the PC you should always go with a dedicated video card, never an onboard one. Is there a configuration file so you can setup the game to how you want it? When was the game made, before 2002? Compatability mode will help there, try Windows98SE.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Unless I'm mistaken, Ophelia_Later's profile pic is Angelina Jolie from Beowulf. If you're...