1. test84

    OP test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,697
    Country:
    Iran
    Its this game Colin McRae Rally 2 that I'm trying to play, when I run it, it resizes my desktop to something like 640x480, then a blank screen and then resizes it back to its original resolution.

    I tried different N*o-C*D executables and re-installing DirectX, no luck.
     
  2. dweirdo

    dweirdo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    what are your specifications? are you running your latest driver? what is your OS?
    more info and i guess youll get a straight answer.
     
  3. test84

    OP test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,697
    Country:
    Iran
    my OS is Win XP SP2 and my graphic card is 945 Intel and I tested it on another Laptop wuth XP SP2 with an ATI card, same results.
     
  4. Lee79

    Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Country:
    you could try right clicking the .exe file and selecting properties/compatibility/compatibility mode. Put a tick in the box and select windows 98.
     
  5. porchemasi

    porchemasi GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Canada
    check if there is a patch from the official site
     
  6. dweirdo

    dweirdo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    other games work fine? you havent actually bought the game right? could be problem of the executable.
     
  7. Narin

    Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,629
    Country:
    United States
    Try this, it works great to get a lot of older games and applications to work under Windows XP
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details...;displaylang=en

     
  8. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,489
    Country:
    United States
    thats what happens with all my games
    GTA:VC and SA
    Halo
    Half-life 2
    and some others

    I thought thats what its supposed to do
    but I have to run some of these games at 800x600
    since my gfx card cant handle them at 1024x768 (max native res)
     
  9. fenthwick

    fenthwick GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    Some/most games have an auto detection of your hardware. When the game starts it will resize the resolution to what it thinks your computer will be able to handle along with other settings. You can always change the resolution to your default setting in the options but that mightmean that you can't max the game.

    But from what you described you have an onboard GPU and that might be the cause that the game refuses to run and returns you back to the deskktop.
     
  10. Hillsy_

    Hillsy_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    When playing games on the PC you should always go with a dedicated video card, never an onboard one. Is there a configuration file so you can setup the game to how you want it? When was the game made, before 2002? Compatability mode will help there, try Windows98SE.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - anyone, whats, wrong