Does anyone else do this?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by awssk8er, Mar 27, 2010.

Mar 27, 2010

Does anyone else do this? by awssk8er at 9:20 PM (1,219 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. awssk8er
    OP

Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

United States
    Well, I've been downloading games for the DS since mid-2007 and the Wii since 2008, and I never bought games for either since, but kind of felt bad for not supporting developers.

The first game I decided to buy in a long time was Red Steel 2. I downloaded the early release to play it early, and almost finished the game before it even came out.

Then when it arrived on my door step, I had no purpose to open it. I would just finish the backup of the game I had. So now, I have a copy of Red Steel 2 in my closet un-opened. I've also ordered Galaxy 2 and Monster Hunter Tri, which I plan to do for these games.

Also, from what I understand, it's legal to download games, if you have the legit copy for it. Also, the HBC or flashcarts aren't illegal unless you use illegal games on them.

Well, anyway, games that I really want to support my developers for, I am going to buy the game from now on, and just never open it. So maybe it could be worth something in the far future. Also, this is all legal too.

So everyone wins. [​IMG] Except my wallet.

I was just wondering if anyone else does this?

2. ProtoKun7

Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

United Kingdom
    As far as I know, even in America you're only allowed to make a copy of what you have rather than getting someone else's copy.

Anyway, it's not the same, but for my DS, I buy my games, then I usually make a dump of them, so I can run it on my CycloDS, and if I want to use the retail version, I'll use my DSi.

I do use my CycloDS far more than my retail cards though. [​IMG]

We've both mentioned DS, so maybe this might fit in General Consoles Discussion.

3. syko5150

Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!