Hacking Question Do you think the upcoming switch hack will be hardmod or flashcard?

naddel81

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
2,554
Trophies
1
XP
3,882
Country
United States
...someday as the wii, wii U and (N)3DS have. How come the DS (lite) still requires a flash card?

And do you think the team Xecutor solution will be a glitch chip or a flash card?

Best wishes!


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
 

DarkFlare69

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
5,147
Trophies
2
Location
Chicago
XP
4,752
Country
United States
because there's really nothing on the original DS. even if there was a way to run code, there's no way to store homebrew or ROMs, as it doesnt have an SD card or other storage method. game cartridges are the only way.


as for the switch, i think this is a modchip. no reasoning though besides that team xecuter is known for hardware
 
Last edited by DarkFlare69,
  • Like
Reactions: naddel81

cholaloula

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 15, 2017
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
349
Country
France
Where would you store the DS (lite) games?

Anyway, could the Xecuter chip be an eMMC replacement patched to their own custom flavor?
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,614
Trophies
4
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
25,375
Country
Canada
The Nintendo DS doesn't have any internal memory, only a BIOS with some hard coded programs. Games run on bare metal from cartridges, so a flashcard is required for everything.
The closest we could have is FLASHME which is no longer required since any modern flashcards can bypass security checks.
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3,771
Trophies
2
XP
6,240
Country
How come the DS (lite) still requires a flash card?

How do you propose running games without one?

The Nintendo DS doesn't have any internal memory, only a BIOS with some hard coded programs. Games run on bare metal from cartridges, so a flashcard is required for everything.
The closest we could have is FLASHME which is no longer required since any modern flashcards can bypass security checks.

I'd still recommend it though as it offers brick protection.
 
  • Like
Reactions: naddel81

weatMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
3,311
Trophies
2
Age
47
XP
3,395
Country
United States
If it was an eMMC module or an addon module between the eMMC and the socket, it would be extremely easy to install
yeah i have a feeling this is what it is , but that it might also require 1 to 3 more wires to be soldered to the main MB along with the passthrough
and that they will probably offer 2 solutions
one for people who DGAF about on online and another that has a dual boot for online like they did with the RGH on the 360
no basis for this just pure speculation though

they always start out a bit sloppy then get more refined , they could come out with a future version that is 100% passthrough no extra wires
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,023
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,459
Country
United States
yeah i have a feeling this is what it is , but that it might also require 1 to 3 more wires to be soldered to the main MB along with the passthrough
and that they will probably offer 2 solutions
one for people who DGAF about on online and another that has a dual boot for online like they did with the RGH on the 360
no basis for this just pure speculation though

they always start out a bit sloppy then get more refined , they could come out with a future version that is 100% passthrough no extra wires
If it isn't too many wires I'll buy it. I do have some experience soldering (even installed leds in my translucent green n64). I'm hoping it installs in a way where I can show it off a bit in my transparent green shell I installed on my switch.
 

Furoryan

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 23, 2017
Messages
35
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
98
Country
France
We know that the the recovery mode starts if you remove the eMMC. We also know that they have some of the cryptographics keys. So, I think they have found a way to use the recovery mode to run a custom kernel... Maybe they have bypassed another security check with a modchip, but I think they use a custom "gamecard".
 

Wurztha

Admìn MoFo :P
Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Behind you!
XP
181
Country
What I took from their wording is that it could be software based up to 2.3.0 and will be hardware for 3.0.0 or later. This wouldn't hurt there sales if they gave us a softmod for 1.0.0 - 2.3.0 as most units will be above this. In fact it may well help their sales by showcasing what is possible with the chip for people not able to use the softmod, which will be a growing number of people each day as newer consoles hit the shelves!
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

weatMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
3,311
Trophies
2
Age
47
XP
3,395
Country
United States
What I took from their wording is that it could be software based up to 2.3.0 and will be hardware for 3.0.0 or later. This wouldn't hurt there sales if they gave us a softmod for 1.0.0 - 2.3.0 as most units will be above this. In fact it may well help their sales by showcasing what is possible with the chip for people not able to use the softmod, which will be a growing number of people each day as newer consoles hit the shelves!
i did too but team X is not going to give us any free software solutions on any FW
at least i doubt they will but they just gave everyone a heads up that the real golden FW is 2.3.0 or below and not 3.0.0
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Kirbydogs @ Kirbydogs: @BakerMan had a feeling